Objective opinions about Linspire v. Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
joeljkp
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:58 pm    Post subject: Objective opinions about Linspire v. Gentoo Reply with quote

I've been using Gentoo for several months now, but my setup just died due to a hard drive failure. I figure this is a perfect time to try out some different stuff before I put Gentoo back on.

I have a lifetime subscription to Linspire and Click-N-Run (it was only $100, after all), so money's not a problem anymore.

Before I throw it on there though, I'd like some opinions. Coming from a Gentoo point of view, what are Linspire's showstoppers?

I realize it doesn't use GNOME, but I can get over that if the KDE environment is nice. It also has a rolling release cycle, like Gentoo, where end-user apps (but not system libraries and such) get updated as they are released. It seems as if everything's packaged up nicely, and it includes various extra packages, like the Deviantart wallpaper pack, licensed (so legal in the U.S.) DVD player, and various other things. They even have UT2004 packaged, like we do.

Linspire's philosophy also doesn't bother me, unless there are evil things I'm not aware of. They released their source code for Lsongs and Lphoto, are funding the development of NVu, are contributing to various other OSS apps, and push for Linux hardware support in retail outlets (like Wal-Mart).

Linspire also provides a degree of corporate backing and support, so it feels like I should be able to trust that things won't just break, or that I'll be stuck without any recourse.

So what am I missing here? What are the things that Linspire just doesn't get right, but that Gentoo does?
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote