Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
modprobe: can't locate module?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:18 pm    Post subject: modprobe: can't locate module? Reply with quote

When I try to load a module for my network card it says.
Code:

modprobe: Can't locate module sis900

I know its there because when I cd to the net folder under drivers, it says its there as sis900.o. (Yes, I have tried modprobe sis900.o too). Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

root# modules-update
root# modprobe sis900

_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I do that it says
Code:
depmod: /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/"drivername is here" is not an ELF file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shrapnel wrote:
When I do that it says
Code:
depmod: /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/"drivername is here" is not an ELF file


what is the output from
Code:

grep BINFMT /usr/src/linux/.config


:?:
_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_BINFMT_AOUT=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_MISC-y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shrapnel wrote:
CONFIG_BINFMT_AOUT=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_MISC-y


hum ...
try that :
Code:

grep ELF /usr/src/linux/.config

_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_KCORE_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try that :
Code:

cd /usr/src/linux

cp .config config.old
make mrproper
cp config.old .config
make menuconfig #Verify that all is good !
make dep
make bzImage && make modules
make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<what you want>

#configure lilo/grub

reboot

Then try to load the module again !
_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do I do this on the LiveCD or off of my hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the HD !
_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well when I do it on the hd it says that config.old cannot be found when I am doing cp. config.old .config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh nevermind, I skipped that step. Now, the problem is, I copied all my modules over from the live CD because they were not copied initially. When I do this step you just told me, it deletes all the modules I just copied over. Any ideas on what I should do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelsensei
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 5619
Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shrapnel wrote:
Oh nevermind, I skipped that step. Now, the problem is, I copied all my modules over from the live CD because they were not copied initially. When I do this step you just told me, it deletes all the modules I just copied over. Any ideas on what I should do?


hum, I don't speak english very well .., but what I understand, is that you copied the modules from the LiveCD to /lib/modules/kernelversion/ on your HD . That's not the right way !

re-compile your kernel :

Code:

cd /usr/src/linux

cp .config config.old
make mrproper
cp config.old .config
make menuconfig #Verify that all is good !
make dep
make bzImage && make modules

####Delete the bad LiveCD's modules ####
rm -rf /lib/modules/<kernel-version>
########################################

make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<what you want>

#configure lilo/grub

reboot

_________________
$ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuardin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 713
Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you want to compile your kernel. Or, if you don't want to, run genkernel. I havn't used it, but it appears to be fairly stable according to rumours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, I am on vacation right now and cannot work on my gentoo computer but when I get back Sunday I will be sure to try that and keep you updated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I installed from vanilla-sources instead. This time all my modules were installed, but still, it says, modprobe: Can't locate module sis900. Even in the start-up sequence when it tries to load sis900 it says could not load sis900.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuardin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 713
Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sis900? is that a graphics card?

I remember that back in the 2.4.20 days when I had a laptop based on sis chips, the graphics driver had a problem with its dependencies. It simply did not compile everything that was necessary unless one selected framebuffer support built in....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, It is the built in network card on my motherboard. SIS900 is my chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please, Someone help, I am desperate!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PLEASE!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shrapnel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I must bump this again. I HAVE to get an answer, I am completely stumped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuardin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 713
Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Been out of town a while.

OK, I am now assuming that your computer boots fine except that you get some errors regarding a sis900, and that networking is not functioning. If this is not the case, correct me now.

First you need to check that you actually have the module. It should be found in /lib/modules/(version)/kernel/drivers/net/, and it should be calles sis900.o. If this file does not exist then you did not compile it. In that case, go back and reconfigure your kernel and make sure you compile support for the sis900/7016 as a module. Then recompile and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum