View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:18 pm Post subject: modprobe: can't locate module? |
|
|
When I try to load a module for my network card it says.
Code: |
modprobe: Can't locate module sis900
|
I know its there because when I cd to the net folder under drivers, it says its there as sis900.o. (Yes, I have tried modprobe sis900.o too). Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
root# modules-update
root# modprobe sis900
|
_________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I do that it says
Code: | depmod: /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/"drivername is here" is not an ELF file |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Shrapnel wrote: | When I do that it says
Code: | depmod: /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/"drivername is here" is not an ELF file |
|
what is the output from
Code: |
grep BINFMT /usr/src/linux/.config
|
_________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
CONFIG_BINFMT_AOUT=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_MISC-y |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Shrapnel wrote: | CONFIG_BINFMT_AOUT=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_MISC-y |
hum ...
try that :
Code: |
grep ELF /usr/src/linux/.config
|
_________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
CONFIG_KCORE_ELF=y
CONFIG_BINFMT_ELF=y |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
anyone? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try that :
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config config.old
make mrproper
cp config.old .config
make menuconfig #Verify that all is good !
make dep
make bzImage && make modules
make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<what you want>
#configure lilo/grub
reboot
|
Then try to load the module again ! _________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat May 29, 2004 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do I do this on the LiveCD or off of my hard drive? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 1:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
On the HD ! _________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well when I do it on the hd it says that config.old cannot be found when I am doing cp. config.old .config |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 4:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh nevermind, I skipped that step. Now, the problem is, I copied all my modules over from the live CD because they were not copied initially. When I do this step you just told me, it deletes all the modules I just copied over. Any ideas on what I should do? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelsensei Bodhisattva
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 5619 Location: Woustviller/Moselle/FRANCE (49.07°N;7.02°E)
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 9:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Shrapnel wrote: | Oh nevermind, I skipped that step. Now, the problem is, I copied all my modules over from the live CD because they were not copied initially. When I do this step you just told me, it deletes all the modules I just copied over. Any ideas on what I should do? |
hum, I don't speak english very well .., but what I understand, is that you copied the modules from the LiveCD to /lib/modules/kernelversion/ on your HD . That's not the right way !
re-compile your kernel :
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
cp .config config.old
make mrproper
cp config.old .config
make menuconfig #Verify that all is good !
make dep
make bzImage && make modules
####Delete the bad LiveCD's modules ####
rm -rf /lib/modules/<kernel-version>
########################################
make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<what you want>
#configure lilo/grub
reboot
|
_________________ $ ruby -e'puts " .:@BFegiklnorst".unpack("x4ax7aaX6ax5aX15ax4aax6aaX7ax2aX5aX8 \
axaX3ax8aX4ax6aX3aX6ax3ax3aX9ax4ax2aX9axaX6ax3aX2ax4ax3aX4aXaX12ax10aaX7a").join' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cuardin l33t
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 713 Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 7:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, you want to compile your kernel. Or, if you don't want to, run genkernel. I havn't used it, but it appears to be fairly stable according to rumours. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you, I am on vacation right now and cannot work on my gentoo computer but when I get back Sunday I will be sure to try that and keep you updated. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I installed from vanilla-sources instead. This time all my modules were installed, but still, it says, modprobe: Can't locate module sis900. Even in the start-up sequence when it tries to load sis900 it says could not load sis900. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cuardin l33t
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 713 Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sis900? is that a graphics card?
I remember that back in the 2.4.20 days when I had a laptop based on sis chips, the graphics driver had a problem with its dependencies. It simply did not compile everything that was necessary unless one selected framebuffer support built in.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, It is the built in network card on my motherboard. SIS900 is my chipset. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Please, Someone help, I am desperate! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PLEASE!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shrapnel n00b
Joined: 26 May 2004 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry, but I must bump this again. I HAVE to get an answer, I am completely stumped. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cuardin l33t
Joined: 06 Feb 2003 Posts: 713 Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Been out of town a while.
OK, I am now assuming that your computer boots fine except that you get some errors regarding a sis900, and that networking is not functioning. If this is not the case, correct me now.
First you need to check that you actually have the module. It should be found in /lib/modules/(version)/kernel/drivers/net/, and it should be calles sis900.o. If this file does not exist then you did not compile it. In that case, go back and reconfigure your kernel and make sure you compile support for the sis900/7016 as a module. Then recompile and reboot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|