Startup sequence broken: need help fixing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chennes
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Startup sequence broken: need help fixing Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo and didn't read the instructions carefully enough when using emerge to update my system. Doh! I have consequently borked a large number of system configuration files. I am in the process of rebuilding and am having some trouble figuring out what's going wrong with my boot-sequence. At first, startup appears to be going normally. At some point, however, as it executes scripts in init.d, it begins to spew numerous ": command not found" messages (note that it is NOT printing out said unfound command). It prints them out between various "Starting blah..." statements, but I'm not sure it they are ocurring before, after or during the scripts. My real confusion starts when I manually run /etc/init.d/some_service start: I get no errors. Where are these errors coming from!?

Is there any easy (or sort-of easy) way to blow away the system configuration files in etc and replace them with the default ones? I have not made many modifications to them, and nothing that I can't recreate in 20 minutes if I can just get the system to start normally!
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without seeing the errors you get I can only guess that you may have a line in e.g. /etc/rc.conf uncommented that shouldn't be.
chennes
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You see what I see: 8 lines scroll by between each "Starting..." item, each of which reads ": command not found". Not much info there.
robmoss
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote