View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
anthonywong
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Testing Xorg-x11 xorg.conf.new giving me blank screen Reply with quote

I'm a newbie with Linux Gentoo and linux in general. I've tried to use the forum search to look for answers but I'm still stuck on what to do next. I had just succesfully compiled 2 sets of kernel (2.4.25-gentoo-r1) and 2.6.5-gentoo-r1) Had used the later one(2.6.x kernel) to emerge xorg-x11 after reading the 11 Chapters to install Gentoo.

When i came to the step to test x-windows, using 'Xorg -config /root/xorg.conf.new' command, i get a blank screen.

I noticed that after using ctrl-alt-backspace to kill the X, a message that says

Quote:
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/, removing from list!

After reading some threads, some had seemed to suggest to emerge corefonts. So i did - but it did not solve the above problem.

How should I go about to fix this? need some good pointers.

Thanks!

-ant-
monotux
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit your Font-section properly.
all fonts are stored in /usr/share/fonts/, so check your paths.
anthonywong
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops .. i made a blind copy and paste. It should have been

Quote:
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/Speedo/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/Type1/, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/CID/, removing from list!