PowerBook mkofboot worked but reboot skips bootloader
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
new2linux45
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: PowerBook mkofboot worked but reboot skips bootloader Reply with quote

I'm new to Linux, and seem to have successfully installed Linux, but I cannot get the PowerBook (12" no DVI) to give me a bootloader menu. It boots directly into OS X. Holding the Option key down while booting only gives me the OS X icon (no Linux icon).

I manually configured yaboot.conf, and got "mkofboot -v -b /dev/hda10 -o hd:10" to work.

Here are are the partitions:

/dev/hda1 Apple_partition_map Apple ... 31k Partition map
/dev/hda2 Apple_Driver43 Macintosh ... 28k Driver 4.3
/dev/hda3 Apple_Driver43 Macintosh ... 28k Driver 4.3
/dev/hda4 Apple_Driver_ATA Macintosh ... 28k Unknown
/dev/hda5 Apple_Driver_ATA Macintosh ... 28k Unknown
/dev/hda6 Apple_FWDriver Macintosh ... 256k Unknown
/dev/hda7 Apple_Driver_IOKit Macintosh ... 256k Unknown
/dev/hda8 Apple_Patches Patch Partition ... 256k Unknown
/dev/hda9 Apple_HFS Untitled ... 29.2G HFS
/dev/hda10 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap ... 800k NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda11 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap ... 512M Linux swap
/dev/hda12 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root ... 7.6G Linux native

Here are the uncommented lines from yaboot.conf:

boot=/dev/hda10
device=hd:
partition=12
delay=5
defaultos=macosx
timeout=40
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
fbcolor=white
bgcolor=blue
image=/boot/vmlinux
label=Linux
root=/dev/hda12
sysmap=/boot/System.map
read-only
macosx=/dev/hda9
enablecdboot
enableofboot

Can anyone tell me what's going on, or how I can fix the problem?

FYI, vmlinux is the name I gave the kernel, and System.map is the name I gave the sysmap, during the install process.

new2linux45
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice