View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bmpw n00b

Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 16 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:46 pm Post subject: NTFS Kernel Issue |
|
|
Hi there,
I compiled a gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.5-r1 kernel and I swear I put NTFS read support in, since all my docs and music are on NTFS and I've got no space to shufle them off and format to something more universal.
However, I tried to mount using:
Code: | mount -t ntfs /dev/hde0 /mnt/win |
.. And it didn't work, saying: "fs type ntfs is not supported by kernel".
I'm something of a n00b, so could someone explain to me how to find out whether NTFS is in the kernel or not, and whether it's possible to add it as a module without recompiling the entire kernel.
Thanks,
Ben |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TheCoop Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if /proc/config.gz exists you can do
gzcat /proc/config.gz |grep NTFS
to see whats actually in the kernel _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
freelight Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Posts: 295 Location: NYC, NY, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can chek your kernel configuration to see if reading NTFS is enabled, like so:
Code: |
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
|
and go to File Systems->DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems to see if NTFS is enabled. If it says M next to NTFS, it's compiled as a kernel module, and you need to load it:
To auto-load it on boot, add it to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Also, I recommend captive-ntfs for full write support. It uses Windows's native ntfs.sys file for full compatibility. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
spb Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004 Posts: 2135 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The simpler way is to check /proc/filesystems to see whether you have ntfs support enabled. If not, then 'modprobe -l' will list your available kernel modules. If ntfs is there, then 'modprobe ntfs' and try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bmpw n00b

Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 16 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the advice. Checked it through the menu config and, distressingly, it wasn't there. I'm about to have a look at that captive-ntfs thingy, but if it's not an option will I be forced to recompile? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
spb Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004 Posts: 2135 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bmpw wrote: | Thanks for the advice. Checked it through the menu config and, distressingly, it wasn't there. I'm about to have a look at that captive-ntfs thingy, but if it's not an option will I be forced to recompile? | Are you sure? It should be under 'File Systems -> DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems' in 2.6.x. Just enable it, recompile, and reboot. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
freelight Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Posts: 295 Location: NYC, NY, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you don't want to reinstall the kernel (and reboot), compile ntfs as a kernel module, and load it as I showed earlier.
If you use captive-ntfs, you don't need ntfs support in the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bmpw n00b

Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 16 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks very much. Well, I went out so before leaving I backed up the current kernel and recompiled with NTFS. I'm not sure what I did wrong last time, maybe I didn't save the changes when prompted...
It works find now though, so thank you very much. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|