Linux needs a diet?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Deebster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:43 am    Post subject: Linux needs a diet? Reply with quote

Interesting article from OS news:

Quote:
Consider these memory requirements for Fedora Core 2, as specified by Red Hat: Minimum for graphical: 192MB and Recommended for graphical: 256MB. Does that sound any alarm bells with you? 192MB minimum? I've been running Linux for five years (and am a huge supporter), and have plenty of experience with Windows, Mac OS X and others. And those numbers are shocking -- severely so. No other general-purpose OS in existence has such high requirements. Linux is getting very fat.

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=7324

Read the whole article, there are some good points in there.

Oh, and no need to spam the comments section about how l33t Gentoo is, people have already done so :( $gentoo.users.rep--
nahpets
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not so sure about this article. I have dual boot on my machine and I find WinXP takes a long time to log in a user cause it has to load all sorts of apps on startup (antivirus, windows update, etc).

I find that in general, my system runs then same in WinXP or KDE. My "feeling" is that Linux runs smoother when I have lots of apps open, which is probably due to superior mem management.
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The person that wrote that might have used Linux for a while, but obviously isn't aware that there is a lot more than Red Hat out there and Linux runs nice on older machines. I mean, since when was 192mb of RAM a lot? :roll:

I suppose I just really can't see the point.
superjaded
l33t
l33t