View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Offler
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: KDE 3.2.3 wants to be 3.2.2! Reply with quote

I'm very new to Gentoo so be kind :wink:. I've just recently emerged the new KDE 3.2.3 and now whenever I try to emerge world portage tries to remerge KDE 3.2.2. This is rather annoying if I use the -u flag it would install 3 odd packages and the old KDE: if I use the -U flag it emerges NOTHING?, what I'm worrying about is what happened to the other 3 packages? Those other packages are marked U, so why do they not show up when I use the -U flag? Anyone who has KDE 3.2.3 could you tell me what you do to update your system? Well I'm off to try Xorg again :D, I just know Xfree is going to be re-emerged with an Xorg emerge.
Sipi
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-u means that it tries to upgrade the packages. But sometimes it occurs that actually it will be a downgrade. It menas that there should be a package which eas compile with older kde, or a package is installed that needs old version, not new. Use "qpkg -q kde-3.2.2" to find if there are any packages which needs older kde.

-U means that it tries to upgrade only. It will not downgade anything. That's why you will not see the 3 older kde package. Generally, better to use this switch.

Sipi
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do
Code:

mkdir /etc/portage
echo "kde-base/kde ~x86" > /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo "x11-base/xorg-x11 ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo "x11-base/xfree" > /etc/portage/package.mask

to set the 'unstable' keyword for kde and xorg permanently and to mask xfree. After that, portage won't bug you anymore with kde downgrades and xfree installs.
mrv
Tux's lil' helper