Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Get help on partitioning here [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ed Brentnall
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:35 pm    Post subject: Re: is this partition scheme OK? Reply with quote

nikoladsp wrote:
Hi,
i encountered some problems during gentoo install routine,and i suspect that my partition scheme maybe is wrong...anyway,before i continue in my attempts to install gentoo,is this scheme is OK:

/dev/hda:
/boot 128 MB
swap 1024 MB
/var 4 GB
/ 2GB

/dev/hdb:
/usr 3.5GB
/usr/portage 3.5 GB

I have had similar problems as Nikoladsp, but with the "standard" partitioning scheme recommended in the Gentoo Handbook. I thought I'd stick to a basic configuration, as I'm new to Linux, and thought I'd be brave and dive in with Gentoo, having installed Mandrake 9.1 previously and felt that it was little more than running an installer, which didn't teach me much about Linux! Now I'm attempting to install Gentoo, I feel that I can learn much more, as I've encountered a problem during the installation, and I'm a firm believer that you only learn from your mistakes!

I have done as the Handbook suggested, which is as follows:

Code:
1.  Downloaded and burned Gentoo Universal LiveCD and Packages CD from The UK Mirror Service (UK/ftp)
2.  Dropped the Universal LiveCD in, and booted from it
3.  At the livecd # prompt, I did as it suggested and changed the root password using the passwd command
4.  I added a user, ed, with the useradd command, and changed the password as follows:

useradd -m -G users ed
      passwd ed