Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Alsa Is Loading All The Modules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:38 am    Post subject: Alsa Is Loading All The Modules Reply with quote

This is pretty annoying altough alsa still works. I just upgraded to the latest version of alsa-driver and now when I boot up alsa loads every single module it has. I did:

Code:
env ALSA_CARDS="emu10k1" emerge alsa-driver


Worked fine. Now at boot time I get this:

Code:
 * Loading ALSA drivers...
 * Loading: snd_emu10k1
 * Loading: snd_intel8x0m
 * Loading: snd_hdspm
FATAL: Error inserting snd_hdspm (/lib/modules/2.6.3-rc3-mm1/kernel/sound/pci/snd-hdspm.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
 * Loading: snd_als4000
 * Loading: snd_azt3328
 * Loading: snd_bt87x
 * Loading: snd_cmipci
 * Loading: snd_cs4281
 * Loading: snd_ens1370
 * Loading: snd_ens1371
 * Loading: snd_es1938
 * Loading: snd_es1968
 * Loading: snd_fm801
 * Loading: snd_intel8x0
 * Loading: snd_maestro3
 * Loading: snd_rme32
 * Loading: snd_rme96
 * Loading: snd_sonicvibes
 * Loading: snd_via82xx
 * Loading: snd_mixart
 * Loading: snd_au8810
 * Loading: snd_au8820
 * Loading: snd_au8830
 * Loading: snd_ali5451
 * Loading: snd_cs46xx
 * Loading: snd_ice1712
 * Loading: snd_ice1724
 * Loading: snd_korg1212
 * Loading: snd_nm256
 * Loading: snd_rme9652
 * Loading: snd_hdsp
 * Loading: snd_trident
 * Loading: snd_ymfpci
 * Loading: snd_vx222
 * Loading: snd-mixer-oss
 * Loading: snd-pcm-oss
 * Loading: snd-seq-oss
 * Loading: snd-mixer-oss
 * Loading: snd-pcm-oss
 * Loading: snd-seq-oss
 * Running card-dependent scripts
 * Restoring Mixer Levels                                                                                                                                                    [ ok ]


Ummm...I don't remember having to change any alsa configuration files after updating. Any idea whats causing alsa to want to load every module instead of just the one I need?
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Helena
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 1114
Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you done
Code:
modules-update
? Which kernel are you using? Have you (re)edited /etc/modules.d/alsa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done modules-update and I'm using the mm-sources-2.6.3 kernel with emu10k1 compiled in as a module. /etc/modules.d/alsa has not changed at all. It looks like this:

Code:
# Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-modules.conf-rc,v 1.1 2003/08/05 21:07:55 johnm Exp $

# ALSA portion
#alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
#alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
##  ALSA portion
 alias snd-card-0 snd-emu10k1
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
##  OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
#alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
#alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
#alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
#alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
#alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
##  OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=1


I noticed it says "Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file" at the top and I'm wondering why this file was not updated with the 1.0 release of alsa-driver.
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiOCHiP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 57
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alsa is included in the 2.6 kernels, so you should use the kernel drivers and not emerge alsa-drivers. You need alsa-utils tho. So try and emerge unmerge alsa-drivers.
_________________
Music is the Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I don't need /etc/init.d/alsasound to run at boot time?
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need alsa-driver as you can use the built in kernel drivers. You still need to run alsasound though, as that does useful things like unmuting the soundcard, and also loading the modules if you don't compile the drivers into the kernel.
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I unmerged alsa-driver:

Code:
emerge -C alsa-driver


Still get the same stuff at startup. I have hundreds of useless soundcard modules being loaded and I don't know why. This didn't happen until I updated the the newest version of alsa in portage.
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiOCHiP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 57
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you give me the output of
Code:
modprobe -c | grep -E "^[[:space:]]*alias[[:space:]]+snd-card-[[:digit:]]"


as root? That's the way alsa detects what soundcard you have, let's see if its output is sensible.
_________________
Music is the Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
#modprobe -c | grep -E "^[[:space:]]*alias[[:space:]]+snd-card-[[:digit:]]"
alias snd-card-0 snd-emu10k1


I am in fact using emu10k1.
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiOCHiP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 57
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm... for now it's a mystery to me why all the modules get loaded, but it means one thing: all the modules are available on your system. So, compile only the emu10k1 module and the other ones cannot possibly be loaded. To make sure, check /lib/modules/[kernel version]/kernel/sound/pci, there should only be the emu10k1 module.
_________________
Music is the Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm here is what I have in /lib/modules/2.6.3-rc3-mm1/kernel/sound/pci :

Code:
ac97     cs46xx   korg1212  pdplus          snd-atiixp.ko   snd-cmipci.ko   snd-ens1371.ko  snd-fm801.ko     snd-intel8x0m.ko  snd-rme96.ko       trident
ali5451  emu10k1  mixart    rme9652         snd-azt3328.ko  snd-cs4281.ko   snd-es1938.ko   snd-hdspm.ko     snd-maestro3.ko   snd-sonicvibes.ko  vx222
au88x0   ice1712  nm256     snd-als4000.ko  snd-bt87x.ko    snd-ens1370.ko  snd-es1968.ko   snd-intel8x0.ko  snd-rme32.ko      snd-via82xx.ko     ymfpci


I don't remember compiling all those modules in but apparently I did. Do I have to recompile or can I just delete the unnecessary modules in that directory?
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went back and checked my kernel configuration and I do not have any of those modules installed. I think the problem is that when I emerged alsa-driver it emerged the modules for all the sound cards. I did do this though:

Code:
USE="emu10k1" emerge alsa-driver


but it seems that alsa emerged all the possible sound card drivers anyway. Did I do something wrong?
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiOCHiP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 57
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just make sure you haven't installed alsa-driver at the moment. Then delete all the soundcard modules and do a 'make modules; make modules_install' in /usr/src/linux to install the correct module.
_________________
Music is the Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks BiOCHiP that did the trick. Now I know that the emerge of alsa-driver caused all the modules to be installed. I noticed that alsa-driver is a dependency for certain ebuilds I want. If I did:

Code:
USE="-alsa" emerge <package>


would that work? I need the package to work with alsa but I don't want to install alsa-driver again.
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shiner_Man wrote:
Thanks BiOCHiP that did the trick. Now I know that the emerge of alsa-driver caused all the modules to be installed. I noticed that alsa-driver is a dependency for certain ebuilds I want. If I did:

Code:
USE="-alsa" emerge <package>


would that work? I need the package to work with alsa but I don't want to install alsa-driver again.

That would probably work, but it would also disable alsa support in that package. Which packages need alsa-driver? They ought to have been modified to cope with the fact that the 2.6 kernel provides the drivers...
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum