Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Filesystem Error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bohemian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 255
Location: Deep Space

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:12 pm    Post subject: Filesystem Error Reply with quote

First, my name is Chris and I would like to say the guides are wonderful, however Im experincing some difficulty. This is my second linux distrobution, first was Fedora Core 2, kept it for 3 days, decided I want a challenge. I tell you this as when you respond I need to know the exact commands. I dont know how to mount the drive back to where I was earlier either. Well this is the error I got after I pressed enter for "Grub"

Booting "Gentoo Linux 2.6.7"

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83 kernel /kernel -2.6.7-gentoo root= /dev/ram0
init =/linuxrc real_root =/dev/hda3

ERROR 15: File Not Found

Thanks in advance and remember baby steps :)

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you mean for chrooting?

generally for grub errors like this you pop in the live cd and type in:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/grub/grub.conf
umount /mnt/gentoo

note that hda1 is assumed to be you're /boot partition, for you it could be on hdb, hdc, hdd, hde ect... or even a sda, sdb, ect...

for other issuse, i suggest you make a liveCD script, which automates this process. save it to / and call it liveCD.sh
make the file in nano, and type in the file:
Code:

# the pound sign indicates comments
swapon /dev/hda2 # change this to you're swap
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot # change to boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc # necessary
echo please type in chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
echo env-update
echo source /etc/profile


to use this you will do:
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
/mnt/gentoo/liveCD.sh

note, after making the script, you must do something like:
chmod 700 /mnt/gentoo/liveCD.sh
this will allow only root to read, write, or execute the file.

make sure you replace the hda1 2 or 3 with whatever you did. if you've made a partition for /var or /tmp, you can mount them in a similar manner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bohemian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 255
Location: Deep Space

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didnt install it through the liveCD, I used Knoppix :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bohemian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 255
Location: Deep Space

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my partition table:

Disk /dev/hda: 41.1 GB, 41110142976 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4998 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 5 40131 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 6 68 506047+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda3 69 4998 39600225 83 Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should still be able to get it to work. you may need
mkdir /temp
mount -t ext2fs /dev/hda1 /temp
nano -w /temp/grub/grub.conf
umount /temp
reboot

in anycase -t ext2fs may not be needed, and the method is the same for knoppix and live cd -- mount the FS for /boot somewhere, then edit the files, then unmount it, then reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bohemian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 255
Location: Deep Space

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

root@ttyp0[knoppix]# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo does not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhurt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Davis, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

# mkdir /mnt/gentoo


That should allow you to mount the drive to that point.
_________________
"And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony, anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky's the limit!" -- The Tick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey89
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Filesystem Error Reply with quote

mejoc wrote:
First, my name is Chris and I would like to say the guides are wonderful, however Im experincing some difficulty. This is my second linux distrobution, first was Fedora Core 2, kept it for 3 days, decided I want a challenge. I tell you this as when you respond I need to know the exact commands. I dont know how to mount the drive back to where I was earlier either. Well this is the error I got after I pressed enter for "Grub"

Booting "Gentoo Linux 2.6.7"

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83 kernel /kernel -2.6.7-gentoo root= /dev/ram0
init =/linuxrc real_root =/dev/hda3

ERROR 15: File Not Found

Thanks in advance and remember baby steps :)

Chris


What's with all the spaces in there? Your grub.conf looks a little off.

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.7
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.7-gentoo root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhurt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Davis, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good call I did not even catch that, but this probably would be the culprit:

Code:

kernel /kernel -2.6.7-gentoo


Linux treats white space as a delimiter, so it was looking for a kernel file called kernel and not "kernel-2.6.7-gentoo" and it was passing "-2.6.7-gentoo" as an option. Follow monkey89 advice about fixing your grub conf and you should be all set.
_________________
"And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony, anyway? I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky's the limit!" -- The Tick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum