Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Noob type domain (serving?) question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:27 am    Post subject: Noob type domain (serving?) question Reply with quote

Hi yaw. I've set up this little home network server firewall deal using iptables, apache2, pure-ftpd, dhcp, and bind (as well as other stuff). But my question involves wanting to set up a real mail server. I registered my domain with 1and1 and my domain points to my static ip, but I'm having trouble with mx. All in all, this domain stuff is still a little confusing to me. How can I get this:
Code:

dig @205.152.32.20 tuxmachines.org mx

; <<>> DiG 9.2.3 <<>> @205.152.32.20 tuxmachines.org mx
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62933
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 8

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;tuxmachines.org.               IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
tuxmachines.org.        86400   IN      MX      10 mx00.1and1.com.
tuxmachines.org.        86400   IN      MX      10 mx01.1and1.com.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
tuxmachines.org.        86379   IN      NS      ns27.1and1.com.
tuxmachines.org.        86379   IN      NS      ns28.1and1.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mx00.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.12
mx00.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.10
mx00.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.11
mx01.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.12
mx01.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.10
mx01.1and1.com.         46815   IN      A       217.160.230.11
ns27.1and1.com.         62945   IN      A       217.160.224.3
ns28.1and1.com.         36983   IN      A       217.160.228.3

;; Query time: 89 msec
;; SERVER: 205.152.32.20#53(205.152.32.20)
;; WHEN: Wed Jun 23 01:12:18 2004
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 250


to look like this:
Code:

 dig tuxmachines.org mx

; <<>> DiG 9.2.3 <<>> tuxmachines.org mx
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 56944
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;tuxmachines.org.               IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
tuxmachines.org.        259200  IN      MX      10 mail.tuxmachines.org.
tuxmachines.org.        259200  IN      MX      20 mail2.tuxmachines.org.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
tuxmachines.org.        259200  IN      NS      ns.tuxmachines.org.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns.tuxmachines.org.     259200  IN      A       65.7.236.205

;; Query time: 2 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Jun 23 01:19:52 2004
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 109


?

Thanks in advance,
-s
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was hoping someone could maybe explain to me what's going on as I don't really understand fully how this domain stuff works.

But from what I've gathered is:
running my own named server isn't doing any good as it can't seem to pre-empt the info that 1and1 is sending in. 1and1 is pretty cheap I gather, cuz they won't let me update any dns info. I'm gathering it was a case of getting what you pay for.

So, I'm wondering, if anyone has suggestions?

Do I need an expensive external dns service like ultradns.com or networksolutions to accomplish my goal?

Or can't I just run my own to update root-servers? If this is the case, how do I get 1and1 or anyone to let my server do it?

Please forgive my ignorance - I'm blonde! :-D

thanks,
-s
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveArb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 510
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do I get 1and1 or anyone to let my server do it?

Your domain registration record should have a place in it to indicate where your DNS servers are. I'm not familiar with 1and1, but I don't know of any registrar that doesn't allow you to select your own.

There are free DNS services, that I think would allow you to set up any records you wish. I don't use any of them, so cannot recommend one.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaveArb wrote:
how do I get 1and1 or anyone to let my server do it?

Your domain registration record should have a place in it to indicate where your DNS servers are. I'm not familiar with 1and1, but I don't know of any registrar that doesn't allow you to select your own.

Dave


All they seem to allow is adding subdomains. No access to the type of record. :-(

I can delete the one domain. You think if I delete it, it'll just delete their updating apra? I've bought the domain for a year right, so it'll still be registered to me?

And do I need my port 53 open just to update root-servers?

Thanks, and I apologize again for my ignorance in such matters.
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Houdini
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 224
Location: New Mexico Tech, Socorro, NM

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a 1and1 user. Don't worry, you can do what you want with them. When I get home tonight (in ~6 hours), I'll respond to thise with all the steps you need.
_________________
^]:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG, thank you thank you thank you. :-)
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daledude
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Houdini will prolly help you out with 1and1, but i'll comment on serving your own dns. First you need to register the domain AS a name server through 1and1. They should have some option to do that. In your case it looks like you want ns.tuxmachines.org. This process will ask you what ip that name server is using so any domains using ns.tuxmachines.org as it's dns will goto that ip for it's answer.

Then you get into the world of bind setup 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Houdini
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 224
Location: New Mexico Tech, Socorro, NM

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, be very very very sure that your DNS server works. You can do this by setting your machine's DNS server (in /etc/resolv.conf) to that machine, or with dig.

Using dig:

The easy way will look something like this:
Code:

$ dig @your.server.ip.address tuxmachines.org axfr


That dumps your whole domain, hopefully. It should look right, even though 1and1's server's don't agree with you yet.

If you don't have a decent config yet, you can crib mine, which is at http://www.clanspum.net/~houdini/bind/. It should be complete for a domain running bind, webpages, mail, ftp, and a jabber server. It isn't a tutorial, but if you're familiar with how DNS works it should do the trick.

Now, as for 1and1...

1. Login to your control panel. Get to the "domains" section.
2. Check the box next to your domain. Click on the DNS dropdown, select "edit DNS settings".
3. Under "Basic DNS", select My Name Server as the value for Name server.
4. Under "Advanced DNS", type in the 1and1 domain for your machine in the Primary name server box. This is the (long string).online-homeserver.com address. Remember, you can't use tuxmachines.org!
5. Also under "Advanced DNS", leave Secondary name server as "1&1 name server", or select that option if it's not checked. Click the question mark next to that box, read what it says.
6. Click save.

Now, the hard part:

7. Wait until the zone refreshes. This can be up to 3 days (!), mattering on your ISP's DNS settings.

You're done! Note that, at this point, you are completely responsible for your services. Break it, and they can't fix it :) (probably)

This is a good time to check next to your domain again, and go to "Edit All Contact Details". Make sure they're right, and pointing at you.

Good luck!
_________________
^]:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much guys.

Houdini, you say:
"4. Under "Advanced DNS", type in the 1and1 domain for your machine in the Primary name server box. This is the (long string).online-homeserver.com address. Remember, you can't use tuxmachines.org!"

Would that be like ns1.tuxmachines.org?

I think my bind settings are all good. The second example in my first post is the result of a dig of my local server. That look about right to you?

Thanks for link to your examples. I'll be doing some comparing to make sure mine is similar.

If I decide to let 1&1 do the name serving, in the basic settings if I leave 1&1, I see I can choose other mail server. Would the format for that box be mail.tuxmachines.org 10 ?

Thanks so much.
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Houdini
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 224
Location: New Mexico Tech, Socorro, NM

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't use the domain you're setting up in it's own settings :)

Use the (stuff).online-homeserver.com address they gave you.

No idea about settings if you let them serve it; I moved to serving everything myself on day 1.
_________________
^]:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Houdini wrote:
you can't use the domain you're setting up in it's own settings :)

Use the (stuff).online-homeserver.com address they gave you.


Thanks so much for your help.

When I choose "My name server" under basic and put slv1.1and1.com (the addy from the "?") under advanced as primary and choose 1&1 name server as secondary, it shoots me this error wanting me "Please choose a different name server" under basic. The only other choice is 1&1 name server.

I don't recall them giving me (anything).online-homeserver.com
I guess this is where my confusion has been. Where might that be?

thanks again. :-)
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Houdini
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 224
Location: New Mexico Tech, Socorro, NM

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Login to the control panel, and go to "Server Administration". Go to "Server Data". If needed, click the triangle next to "Your Server's Technical Data" to expand it.

There should be 4 items in there: IP Address, Server name, Server password, and Host status. This is the hostname you want to use for the DNS server.

It might not be at online-homeserver.com, but mine is.
_________________
^]:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your help Houdini. My options were a bit different at 1&1, but I found your help invaluable and adaptable to my situation. dnsreport says that I have Reverse DNS entries for MX records now, so I think I can set up an email system.

Thank you again. :)
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum