2 problems after install.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
deviant_user
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:13 am    Post subject: 2 problems after install. Reply with quote

Ok I'm completely new to Gentoo and still pretty new to Linux in general and I hit a snag with Gentoo.

I did a stage 3 install and got everything to work execpt for 2 problems.

1. I get a error when loading up that says

...can't load module 8139cp
missing kernel or user mode driver 8139cp

I know that this is some sort of network card error and I have heard that there are some problems with the 2004.1 releases, is this related? And if so how do I fix.

2. I am dual booting this with Win2000 and no matter what in either OS when I shut it down it will reboot.

AHHHHHH
Somebody please help!
beowulf918
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give us some more information, like kernel version, and if it was built by hand or with genkernel, and what 'lspci' sees your ethernet card as. For starters, you may try replacing 8139cp with 8139too in your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-VERSION.

As for the second problem, I have no clue. Did it do this before you installed gentoo? It sounds like it might be a BIOS problem.

James.
deviant_user
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I used genkernel, vanilla sources., kernel-2.4.24
lspci sees it as a realtek something or other Im actually in windows right now so Ill have to boot up Gentoo to check the rest.

The rebooting problem only occured after I installed Gentoo I never had this problem before, except for the last time I installed Gentoo. But I have been running Red Hat 9 and it has worked fine, I go back to Gentoo and I get the rebooting thing instead of shutdown,

I'll get the rest of the info soon.