complete newbie question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Brennos
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:03 pm    Post subject: complete newbie question Reply with quote

I read the whole manual, but I couldn't quite figure out where to begin to install a stage 3. I've downloaded the stage 3 of 2004.1 untarred it, and got stuck. Luckly I found a old CD with Gentoo 1.4 (downloaded it previous year in a very enthousiastic mood), but unfortunately after reading the manual very carefully, executing every command that was needed and I got a error. An error concurring quiesce. I found some stuff about that on the forum, I'm still trying to get that working.
Please help me ... I've already succesfully installed Mandrake once, but Gentoo seemed cooler to me.
I'm using a G4 with both Mac OS X.3.4. My bootstrap is hda9, Mac OS X is on hda10, i tried to make an exchange partition (to exchange files between OS X and Gentoo) on hda11, swap is on hda12 and the root on hda13
_savage
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you be a little more specific about the actual error, when it happend, what it said etc... the Gentoo Install How-To works great, for me, and seemingly heaps of other people too ;-)

jens
Brennos
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry.
I've just downloaded the new 2004.1 LiveCD, works perfect untill I want to reboot after the installation. Unmounting the filesystems fails ... I have no idea what to do.
Brennos
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to unmount al the mounted device, untill only the LiveCD (2004.0 although I did download 2004.1) and the live-env were still mounted. I tried to reboot and again the unmounting failed. Did anybody else had the same problem?