Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Apache2 Issue. Worked fine, after reboot doesnt work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alechiko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 465
Location: Inside piano, do not disturb.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:27 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Apache2 Issue. Worked fine, after reboot doesnt work Reply with quote

Code:
localhost root # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
 * Starting apache2...
apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName


Now.. the webpage opens but *incredibly* slowly. This apache server is running from a Virtual Private Server. In order to get rid of the extra HDD space i was paying for it required a reboot. Before the reboot apache worked perfectly. Now when i start it as you can see, its not a clean start and the page opens slowly.

You are more than welcome to look: http://aeon.servequake.com


Last edited by alechiko on Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lajasha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 1040
Location: Vibe Central

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too had this issue and resolved it but am not entirely sure what it was that fixed it however it should be one of the following.

make sure that your hostname is in /etc/hosts
also check in /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf and set the ServerName option to your host name.
_________________
Come and play in my land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alechiko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 465
Location: Inside piano, do not disturb.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:55 pm    Post subject: Hm.. Reply with quote

It doesnt seem to be happy about that.

Code:
localhost root # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
 * Starting apache2...
apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName                                                     [ !! ]

localhost root #


I edited /etc/hosts as you advised and replaced 127.0.0.1 localhost with aeon.servequake.com gentoobox (maybe this is wrong).

I then looked in apache2.conf but wasnt sure where to add it. I then proceeded to do an etc-update && source /etc/profile (i must admit i havent really got the hang of etc-update yet).

I updated a few configuration files using -3

Code:
localhost root # etc-update && source /etc/profile
Scanning Configuration files...
Automerging trivial changes in: inputrc
Automerging trivial changes in: bootmisc
Automerging trivial changes in: checkfs
Automerging trivial changes in: clock
Automerging trivial changes in: crypto-loop
Automerging trivial changes in: domainname
Automerging trivial changes in: hostname
Automerging trivial changes in: keymaps
Automerging trivial changes in: local
Automerging trivial changes in: modules
Automerging trivial changes in: net.lo
Automerging trivial changes in: netmount
Automerging trivial changes in: nscd
Automerging trivial changes in: reboot.sh
Automerging trivial changes in: rmnologin
Automerging trivial changes in: serial
Automerging trivial changes in: shutdown.sh
Automerging trivial changes in: urandom
The following is the list of files which need updating, each
configuration file is followed by a list of possible replacement files.
1) /etc/group
/etc/._cfg0000_group
2) /etc/conf.d/rc
/etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_rc
3) /etc/init.d/checkroot
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_checkroot
4) /etc/init.d/consolefont
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_consolefont
5) /etc/init.d/halt.sh
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_halt.sh
6) /etc/init.d/localmount
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_localmount
7) /etc/init.d/net.eth0
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_net.eth0
8) /etc/init.d/numlock
/etc/init.d/._cfg0000_numlock
Please select a file to edit by entering the corresponding number.
              (-1 to exit) (-3 to auto merge all remaining files)
                           (-5 to auto-merge AND not use 'mv -i'): -3


Why do i get the feeling ive really shagged this box? :?

I currently get this:

Code:
localhost root # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
 * Starting apache2...
apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127
.0.0.1 for ServerName                                                     [ !! ]

localhost root #


Btw.. maletek, your avatar 0wns ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lajasha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 1040
Location: Vibe Central

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well in the hosts it should be like this:
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost aeon.servequake.com aeon


And in the apache2.conf there should be a line like this
Code:
ServerName aeon.servequake.com

_________________
Come and play in my land
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alechiko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 465
Location: Inside piano, do not disturb.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:50 pm    Post subject: maletek Reply with quote

Thanks man.. sorted it all out. Your solutions were just what it needed :D :D :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum