Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE (and K programs in Gnome) crash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: KDE (and K programs in Gnome) crash Reply with quote

Well I recently re-installed Gentoo on a box that had been running Gentoo fine for quite some time, and I am having problems running some KDE programs in Gnome.

It seems that k3b and Kaffeine both seg fault, and it may be because when I try to run kde itself, it won't run either.

Here is the output I get:

Code:
startkde: Starting up...
startkde: Running kpersonalizer...
/usr/kde/3.2/bin/startkde: line 179: 22768 Segmentation fault      kwin
--lock
/usr/kde/3.2/bin/startkde: line 179: 22769 Segmentation fault     
kpersonalizer --before-session
QPixmap: Cannot create a QPixmap when no GUI is being used
QPixmap: Cannot create a QPixmap when no GUI is being used
DCOP aborting call from 'anonymous-22784' to 'kded'
kded: ERROR: Communication problem with kded, it probably crashed.
DCOP aborting call from 'anonymous-22787' to 'knotify'
ERROR: Communication problem with knotify, it probably crashed.
startkde: Shutting down...
klauncher: Exiting on signal 1
startkde: Running shutdown scripts...
startkde: Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dolio
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have compiled KDE with CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS that are too aggressive. Could you post those?
_________________
They don't have a good bathroom to do coke in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think they are too aggresive, but I was using distcc and I was a bit worried that that may have caused it. I have since commented it out but I have not been able to fully remove all the packages I don't think and try recompiling. How would I go about removing not only the "kde" package but also all the dependencies it may have installed and then recompile?

Here is my make.conf:

Code:

USE="gnome gtk kde qt dvd cdr dvdr alsa xmms"
CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=athlon-xp -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

#MAKEOPTS="-j6"
MAEOPTS="-j2"

#FEATURES="distcc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dolio
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, those don't look too aggressive. I suppose recompiling without distcc is worth a try.

To remove kde, try this:

Code:
emerge unmerge kde
emerge depclean -p


Check the packages to make sure it's not going to remove anything stupid. Then do:

Code:
emerge depclean
revdep-rebuild


revdep-rebuild will check linking inconsistencies and rebuild packages that need it. Then you can do

Code:
emerge kde


And it should rebuild all the kde dependencies and packages.

Good luck.
_________________
They don't have a good bathroom to do coke in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, will be trying this and will let you know if it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still getting the same error after removing and re-emerging kde :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

decided to start a fresh install from scratch with no distcc we shall see if it works this time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crisis
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 613
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the recompile from scratch with no distcc fixed it. Not sure why distcc caused a problem, my best bet would be one of the nodes is FreeBSD, although they are all running the same version of gcc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dolio
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know why that would be the problem, unless it's not emitting linux binaries (which would be a problem :)). I mean, there's a tutorial on here about how to use a Windows machine in a distcc cluster...

Anyhow, I'm glad your problem is fixed. I wish I could have helped you fix the problem with distcc.

If you want to experiment, you can use quickpkg to zip up your current KDE installation so that you can reinstall from binaries later. Then you could, for example, remove the BSD box from the cluster and see if it works.

Then again, if I were you, I probably wouldn't want to mess with a working system after how long it took. :)

Edit: The only thing that popped into my mind is: could GCC be linking agains libc instead of glibc? That could be a problem.
_________________
They don't have a good bathroom to do coke in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum