Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
symlink not pointing to new kernel source
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: symlink not pointing to new kernel source Reply with quote

Hi guys,
This is my first time compiling my kernel other than apt-geting it once. I'm following the instructions in the handbook, and emerged gentoo-dev-sources (When I first installed gentoo I emerged gentoo-sources with the 2.4 kernel).
So now I'm doing a
Code:
ls -l /usr/src/linux
and it's still pointing at my old one. How do I find out what exactly the new kernel is called, does it have a -gentoo-r1 or something at the end?

Just don't want to make too many mistakes during my first time..

Thanx
Dswissmiss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gandalf the White
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Verdun, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check in the /usr/src folder, and you should see a folder titled something like gentoo-dev-sources or something. To point the symlink to the new source,
Code:
ln -sf /usr/src/linux-2.67-gentoo-r9 /usr/src/linux


Last edited by Gandalf the White on Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:58 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
megadonkey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 224
Location: Bohuslän, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check what kernels you have.
Code:
ls /usr/src

If for instance you kernel is called linux-2.6.7-gentoo-r9, you just do a:
Code:
cd /usr/src
rm linux
ln -sf linux-2.6.7-gentoo-r9 linux


Edit:
Heh, I was too sloooow. :)
_________________
Life, loathe it or ignore it, you can't like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more question: :roll:

After doing
Code:
make && make modules_install
I need to copy the image over to /boot, but doing an
Code:
cp arch/i386/boot/bzimage /boot/kernel-2.6.5-gentoo-r1
gives me
Code:
cp: cannot stat `arch/i386/boot/bzimage': No such file or directory


I probably didn't use the correct filename, where would I find that?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
southsider
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 358

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

capital I in bzImage

tip: use tab completion, type bz(tab) and it will complete the filename for you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dammit...sorry guys, I got one more.

When I saved the kernel, it saved to /boot, but following the gentoo handbook I originally created a seperate boot partition. So now I have the 2.4 kernel in my seperate boot partition, and the 2.6 kernel in my regular one... Can I copy those over somehow? I can't even view both at the same time in Nautilus, cause when I open /boot, and then mount the /boot partition, it only shows the mounted one...Hope I'm still making sense.

Thanx again
Dswissmiss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xoda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, never used Nautilus myself...

But if you did follow the gentoo handbook;
Code:

mount /boot
cp /usr/src/linux/<whatever> /boot/<a_name>
(cp /usr/src/linux/System.map /boot/System.map-2.6.7-gentoo-r9 for example)

Should work well enough, though I am hardly awake yet so it is hard to tell =)

To actually move something from /boot to /boot on another partition is impossible I think (am I wrong?), you'd need to mount one of the dirs elsewhere.

To simply do the mount /boot and then copy the files solves the problem though.

//Xoda


Last edited by Xoda on Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neophyte46
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dswissmiss wrote:
Dammit...sorry guys, I got one more.

When I saved the kernel, it saved to /boot, but following the gentoo handbook I originally created a seperate boot partition. So now I have the 2.4 kernel in my seperate boot partition, and the 2.6 kernel in my regular one... Can I copy those over somehow? I can't even view both at the same time in Nautilus, cause when I open /boot, and then mount the /boot partition, it only shows the mounted one...Hope I'm still making sense.

Thanx again
Dswissmiss


You should really only have one boot partition. That said, it should also never be automatically mounted on boot for security and protection reasons.

You need to make sure that you mount your '/boot' partition first before copying over the kernel and possibly config and system map files.

I'm a little lost as to why you have more then one /boot and can only view one at a time. You may need to elaborate a little more in order for us to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the problem is that I have a /boot partition, as well as a /boot folder. The /boot partition is on /dev/hdb6 and the /boot folder is on /dev/hdb7 along with the rest of gentoo (the partitions have high numbers cause I'm trying out different distros). So now my problem is that I can't seem to copy the 2.6 kernel which is in the folder to the /boot partition. If I mount the partition I can't see the folder and vice versa.

Any Ideas...and how would I prevent this from happening next time?

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple: mount the /boot partition before you copy the new kernel.
Even so, you can remove the kernel you mistakenly put in that folder before you mount /boot, then mount and cd /usr/src/linux and recopy the kernel, but this time to the /boot partition...
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
megadonkey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 224
Location: Bohuslän, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't you just move the kernel from the folder to something like tmp first?
And then mount /boot and move it there?

Until you mount /boot it's only a folder with a symlink in it.
_________________
Life, loathe it or ignore it, you can't like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neophyte46
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

megadonkey wrote:
Can't you just move the kernel from the folder to something like tmp first?
And then mount /boot and move it there?

Until you mount /boot it's only a folder with a symlink in it.


This is true. Hence the reason in my former post that I didn't understand how you said you had more then one boot folder. If your /boot parition is not actually mounted then megadonkey is right - it's just a folder with a symlink. Just make sure you actually mount your /boot partition before you copy anything to it and it should all work out fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it with copying the contents to a temp folder, mounting /boot and moving it there. Can't beleive such a simple answer escaped my mind.

I really suck at this though, cause now I get this error when booting the comp:

Warning: Unable to open an initial console
Kernel Panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel

I tried putting init=/linuxrc to the kernel line but still get the error.

maybe I've been messing with it too much to notice the obvious, so here's my grub.conf:

default 0
timeout 05
splashimage=(hd0,5)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.5
root (hd0,5)
kernel /kernel-2.6.5-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hdb6 vga=795 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 [/code]

and when it reads root=/dev/hdb7, I get an error saying that it cant mount root on hdb7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
megadonkey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 224
Location: Bohuslän, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
kernel /kernel-2.6.5-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hdb6 vga=795 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 [/code]

and when it reads root=/dev/hdb7, I get an error saying that it cant mount root on hdb7

Which one is your root? hdb6 or hdb7?
Also make sure you have enabled support for your filesystem in the kernel as * and not as modules.
If you have compiled your kernel manually and not used genkernel I don't think you need init=/linuxrc or a ramdisk. Well I've never used it anyway. :)
But as I said, make sure you have the right root specified in your grub.conf and that you have support for your filesystem.
_________________
Life, loathe it or ignore it, you can't like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dswissmiss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 498
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, this is turning out to be a really bad experience. i got to the command prompt, but i could only startx as root. after updating nvidia, glx and doing xorgconfig i could still only use gnome as root, and now i can't even do that.
I'll probably figure it out eventually, but in any case, can anyone please tell me all the steps necessary to update a kernel? is it jus nvidia and glx that i have to update as well, or are there other things...i think alsa needs an update too.

Thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum