View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mglukhovsky n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 2:46 am Post subject: sk98lin drivers DO NOT WORK |
|
|
I have three network interfaces in a small home file server I built. One is a wireless card (Netgear WAG311) that connects the server to the internet on my wireless LAN. The second is a D-Link DGE-530T gigabit PCI card, for my gigabit network. The third is the onboard 10/100 lan interface (via-rhine).
There is one MASSIVE problem. Only the onboard Via 10/100 interface was detected and loaded successfully by the LiveCD. The gigabit card, which uses the sk98lin driver, kept reporting "cannot read VPD keys". I shrugged and decided to take care of that after installation, and used the via-rhine with onboard LAN for a stage 1 install.
I might add that is a 64-bit system (athlon 64 3000+) and that I am using the via k8t800/k8m800 chipset. As such I built a custom kernel using the "2.6.7-gentoo-r11" sources and building with sk98lin support as a module. I chose to auto-load the driver on boot, and there the problems started.
I really need the gigabit card to work- I don't care about the onboard LAN (and was using it only for installation). The wireless LAN drivers I plan on implementing with linuxant emulation, but gigabit ought to work with sk98lin!
Issuing the command resulted in no complaints.
I then issued Code: | ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.5 | as per directions from http://www.syskonnect.com/syskonnect/support/driver/d0102_driver.html. And yes, eth0 IS listed in /proc/net/sk98lin, so all ought to be good.
But no! PING doesn't work, and everything seems to be kaput. Upon investigation of dmesg, the following surfaces near the end:
Code: | sk98lin: Network Device Driver v6.23
(c)Copyright 1999-2004 Marvell(R).
CLASS: registereing class device: ID= 'eth0'
class_hotplug - name = eth0
eth0:
PrefPort:A RlmtMode:Check Link State
eth0:
-- ERROR--
Class: internal Software error
Nr: 0x19e
Msg: Vpd: Cannot read VPD keys
| The above occurs two times, then:
Code: | eth0: no IPv6 routers present |
Yes, I compiled with IPv6 support just in case. After this. the whole "Cannot read VPD keys" error occurs 3 more times, and at that point I took the interface down:
Code: | eth0: network connection down
class_hotplug - name = eth0
device class 'eth0': release.
Badness in remove_proc_entry at fs/proc/generic.c:692 |
Interestingly enough, an lsmod when the sk98lin module is loaded results in no devices being reported as using it....this is infuriating!
This is my VERY first foray into the Gentoo world, with some minor Mandrake experience in the past- I'm really loving what I see so far, and I have learned an awful lot in the past two days, but without this network support Gentoo has no value for me.
Could someone PLEASE help me! Positive or negative user experiences would also help, in particular relating to the D-Link DGE-530T or the sk98lin module.
Thanks a lot!
-Mike
Last edited by mglukhovsky on Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:56 pm; edited 3 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mglukhovsky n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nobody know anything about the sk98lin drivers? Any help at all would be appreciated! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GentooBox Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Southpark/avatar18.gif)
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 1168 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Edit: I should try to read the whole post.
try compiling the driver as a part of the kernel instead of a module.
I have the same setup as you (but i have a Abit) and my sk98lin driver works as it should. _________________ Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mglukhovsky n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll try that soon and let u know how it works out.
Thanks so much for replying! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
OOZafle Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/Mega_Man_3_-_MagnetMan.gif)
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 150
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
same problem, but i'm trying to get it to work at the very beginning of an install.
inserted livecd
wasnt' auto detected
modprobe sk98lin
same problems..... _________________ Time to kick ass and chew bubble gum, and i'm all out of gum. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
giant Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Snow_Ball.jpg)
Joined: 01 Aug 2002 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This sounds really odd.
I got the same card -
dmesg:
Code: |
sk98lin: Network Device Driver v6.22
(C)Copyright 1999-2004 Marvell(R).
PCI: Found IRQ 12 for device 02:01.0
PCI: Sharing IRQ 12 with 00:1f.3
eth0: DGE-530T Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
PrefPort:A RlmtMode:Check Link State
|
lsmod
Code: |
Module Size Used by Not tainted
sk98lin 155144 1
|
And I use the Marvel Yukon / SK98 driver.
But this is on a 2.4 system.
However I got a Shuttle SN95G (hope this is the correct number, the one with AMD 939 Socket) at home running Kernel 2.6 also with a SK98Lin card.
I also get the vpd key errors but the card works fine.
If you use the live cd - does your card get detected at all ? If I didn't build in the same card a couple weeks ago I'd say maybe its a different chip set.
What does dmesg say ?? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
depontius Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 3526
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've got sk98lin working:
ASUS a7n8x Deluxe 2.0
Gentoo, reasonably up-to-date (last week)
gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.10-r6
still running the 2.4 linux-headers (gotta get a round tuit one of these days)
sk98lin built as a module
udev, lvm2
No problems, whatsoever. _________________ .sigs waste space and bandwidth |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
OOZafle Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/Mega_Man_3_-_MagnetMan.gif)
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 150
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
also using a sn95g5 shuttle. I can get the driver working on the livecd but not off. hmm i think i'm gonna boot the livecd and try and fix it using that. _________________ Time to kick ass and chew bubble gum, and i'm all out of gum. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
OOZafle Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/Mega_Man_3_-_MagnetMan.gif)
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 150
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
nope can't get it to work.
modprobe sk98lin responds with Code: | FATAL: error inserting sk98lin invalid module format | after compiling it as a module in the kernel. is there a way to change the format or somthing? _________________ Time to kick ass and chew bubble gum, and i'm all out of gum. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
guni Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 18 May 2003 Posts: 193 Location: Belgium lommel
|
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Add PCI hotplugging to your kernel that will help... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
uprooter n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:04 pm Post subject: I had this problem... |
|
|
I had a similar problem when I intalled gento 2004.3 on my AMD64.
I didn't want to spend time on it, and Since I have 2 onboard lan card I just disabled the gigabit ethernet in the BIOS, finished my installation and only after I got the first lan card configured I re-enabled the sk98lin.
Now things work fine...
Maybe it can help someone out there...
![Shocked 8O](images/smiles/icon_eek.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|