View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:09 pm Post subject: Aironet 350 and RFMON mode.... |
|
|
I've searched and searched to no avail on this one. No post that I've seen has helped. My aironet card just will not go into rfmon mode. I'm not sure if you can configure it from the Cisco Utilities because they segfault before I can even start them. I tried configuring it through the proc interface but it doesn't do anything. From other posts I have read the aironet driver in the gentoo-sources kernel is supposed to support rfmon. Does it? Is there anything else special I need to do? _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DiskBreaker Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2003 Posts: 224
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I haven't worked with Cisco Aironet cards for a while now and I don't have one here, but here are a few hints:
Kernel 2.6.7 should have all the drivers you need and they support rfmon mode (forget about the cisco drivers & utilities, they don't work with monitor mode). Activate it like this: Code: | echo "Mode: r" > /proc/driver/aironet/eth1/Config
echo "Mode: y" > /proc/driver/aironet/eth1/Config |
It used to be that the proc interfaces does not reflect the change into monitor mode. Instead, look at your ifconfig output, if monitor mode is enabled your card should have some really long weird-looking MAC address.
Also, sniffing is not done on your ethX interface, but on wifiX. If you are using kismet, you will have to change your configuration to something like this:
Code: | source=cisco_wifix,eth0:wifi0,ciscosource |
Good luck,
DiskBreaker |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DiskBreaker wrote: | I haven't worked with Cisco Aironet cards for a while now and I don't have one here, but here are a few hints:
Kernel 2.6.7 should have all the drivers you need and they support rfmon mode (forget about the cisco drivers & utilities, they don't work with monitor mode). Activate it like this: Code: | echo "Mode: r" > /proc/driver/aironet/eth1/Config
echo "Mode: y" > /proc/driver/aironet/eth1/Config |
It used to be that the proc interfaces does not reflect the change into monitor mode. Instead, look at your ifconfig output, if monitor mode is enabled your card should have some really long weird-looking MAC address.
Also, sniffing is not done on your ethX interface, but on wifiX. If you are using kismet, you will have to change your configuration to something like this:
Code: | source=cisco_wifix,eth0:wifi0,ciscosource |
Good luck,
DiskBreaker |
I have tried changing the mode via the proc interface as I mentioned above. The values did not change in /proc/drivers/aironet/eth1/Config and I was guessing that it was not working correctly. I hope you are correct in saying that the values within the proc interface do not properly reflect the mode it is in. Unfortunately I have not been able to get kismet to compile yet so I cannot check that out yet. I have read that you need to use wifi0 though. Thanks for the info. _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I do "ifconfig" I get a weird MAC address on wifi0 but a normal one on eth1. Is this correct? Also do I need to "ifconfig wifi0 up" after I enter into rfmon mode? _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DiskBreaker Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2003 Posts: 224
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Abraxas wrote: | When I do "ifconfig" I get a weird MAC address on wifi0 but a normal one on eth1. Is this correct? |
Yes, that sounds good.
If you can't emerge kismet, try a simple sniffer instead, I would recommend emerging ethereal. Then try sniffing on the wifi0 interface and see if you can see some packets flying by... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cool. I already have ethereal installed so I am going to give that a go. Thanks for the help. _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 4:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, this is weird. I think I have this working...sort of. Unfortunately I still cannot get kismet to compile but I have tried using ethereal and I can sniff traffic on eth1 but not on wifi0. My card still does not report that it is in monitor mode but If I capture on eth1 I get packets. If I try to capture on wifi0 I get nothing. Does this make any sense? _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DiskBreaker Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2003 Posts: 224
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
As long as you can capture packets you should be happy, I guess
Do you also see the Management Packets from Access Points (e.g. SSID Broadcast)? If you do, then everything should be ok. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Abraxas l33t
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 814
|
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I finally got kismet to compile (it wouldn't compile with gcc-3.4.1 but it worked with gcc-3.3.3). It seems to work so I guess my card is really working in monitor mode. _________________ Time makes more converts than reason. - Thomas Paine
Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. - Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|