View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Hydraulix Guru
Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 447
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Wow this is looking great. Just one question. How can I get portage to work in X11? It only works in the Terminal. Which is realllllly sloooooow. I keep getting "command not found"
I'm thinking it goes into my bashrc file? Or maybe adding something in ~.xinitrc? _________________ It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
richwareham n00b
Joined: 20 Jul 2004 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hydraulix wrote: | Wow this is looking great. Just one question. How can I get portage to work in X11? |
Add /usr/lib/portage/bin to your PATH in (IIRC) .profile / .bashrc. If its a Gentoo-like system there is probably a /etc/profile that could do with being source'd too. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hydraulix Guru
Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 447
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it? _________________ It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DiskBreaker Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2003 Posts: 224
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hydraulix wrote: | Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it? |
1. Code: | export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin | (in your .bashrc)
2. Code: | for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done |
Voilà. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
richwareham n00b
Joined: 20 Jul 2004 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DiskBreaker wrote: |
2. Code: | for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done |
|
I've often wondered if all languages should posess a shorthand form of for(i=...), certainly it must be the most used of all loop indices . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DiskBreaker Apprentice
Joined: 07 Oct 2003 Posts: 224
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
richwareham wrote: | I've often wondered if all languages should posess a shorthand form of for(i=...), certainly it must be the most used of all loop indices . |
Absolutely! Sometimes you just want to loop but do not need to reference the index inside the loop, so in that case there would be no need to specify an index at all (for the programmer, that is).
Well, in shell scripting at least the Z Shell zsh allows for a somewhat more compact construct:
Code: | for i in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; ls |
You save yourself typing the "do" and "done" keywords.
Otherwise Perl has still the most shorthand-form of all languages I can think of |
|
Back to top |
|
|
as-33 n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 25 Location: Coburg, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 4:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I get the following error when I try to emerge system:
Code: |
Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])
!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
|
What to do now? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
as-33 n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 25 Location: Coburg, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The resolution was to remove fink from the PATH variable. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sohryu Asuka Langley Apprentice
Joined: 14 Nov 2002 Posts: 199 Location: Hannover, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know what this exactly is !?
Does it mean... enemy territory will run under osx !!! ohhh man that would be great... argh _________________ There are 10 sorts of people on this world.
Who understand binary and don't ! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aethyr Veteran
Joined: 06 Apr 2003 Posts: 1085 Location: NYC
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sohryu Asuka Langley wrote: | I don't know what this exactly is !? :?
Does it mean... enemy territory will run under osx !!! ohhh man that would be great... argh :D |
Unfortunately, no. Enemy Territory is an x86 binary ebuild. It will only work for things that compile from source. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gibberish n00b
Joined: 21 Jul 2004 Posts: 9 Location: Moenchengladbach, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
as-33 wrote: | I get the following error when I try to emerge system:
Code: |
Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])
!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
|
What to do now? |
Use "emerge -v system" and not "emerge -uv system". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hydraulix Guru
Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 447
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
DiskBreaker wrote: | Hydraulix wrote: | Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it? |
1. Code: | export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin | (in your .bashrc)
2. Code: | for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done |
Voilà. |
Very nice. Thanks again. _________________ It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson |
|
Back to top |
|
|
revil n00b
Joined: 06 Oct 2002 Posts: 68 Location: Japan
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know if this helps anyone, but I also got the problem not finding emerge. I had a terminal open before i installed portage. I used the same terminal to do the rest of the install. however, when time came to do emerge system, it couldn't find emerge. So all I did was open a new terminal re-did the bootstrap (if i couldn't find emerge, could the bootstrap script, my guess is no), and then ran emerge, which worked. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeoWolf n00b
Joined: 22 Jul 2004 Posts: 45 Location: North Carolina
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:18 pm Post subject: I kind of have some concerns... |
|
|
I've been waiting for this release for quite some time now. I'm an OS X user however I've always been a tad envious of my roommate's system thanks to his using Gentoo Linux on his laptop and possesing portatage. My concern is that Gentoo MacOS seems to install it's apps in the main files where OS X also keeps it's own stuff. This makes me kind of weary in that bothi Fink and DarwinPorts, other OS X package managers avoid this and install in their own subfolder, as to not overwrite or otherwise worry about the Apple issues versions of software. Doesn't this mean portage installs can overwrite Apple's versions and cause problems say if you uninstall portage at a later date or if Apple issues an update that overwrites a binary installed by portage? Also will there be a MacOS section appearing in the forums in the near future? Even despite these concerns though I'm thrilled at all of the great prospects Gentoo MacOS presents. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AvantLegion n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 59
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can anyone please explain the whole "making a disk image" part of the install instructions? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
efp n00b
Joined: 09 Jan 2004 Posts: 2 Location: Austin, TX
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
as-33 wrote: | I get the following error when I try to emerge system:
Code: |
Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])
!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
|
What to do now? |
I think the solution is to remove fink directories from you PATH variable, as you suggest, and re-executing /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap-macos.sh. _________________ L'architecture est mise en oeuvre la nature
-- E.L. Boulee |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blackfede Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 178
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
AvantLegion wrote: | For me, "emerge sync" just gives me a stream of "Failed cache update" errors for every ebuild.
I'm guessing I need to create that image, but the wiki doesn't explain crap.
Quote: | hdiutil create -size 750m <Imagename> -volname <Volumename> -fs UFS |
|
If you read the documentation, you will find that problem is not related to gentoo MacOS, but to the new structure of the portage cache. You dont have to care of this error because it will disapper nex...ypu dont need to do any image of any type! Yust read the doc! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pindar Apprentice
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 220
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Some of you seem to have emerged gentoolkit successfully. How did you do that? I always get these errors (with or without fink in my $PATH):
Code: | emerge -p gentoolkit
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies |
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-apps/portage-2.0.50" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.50-r8 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.50-r9 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.51_pre13 (masked by: package.mask, missing keyword)
# <carpaski@gentoo.org> (11 Apr 2004)
# Internal testing phase
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "app-portage/gentoolkit-0.2.0_pre8" [ebuild])
|
As far as I can see, portage doesn't have the macos keyword in any version, so how did you get past that error? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dephzon n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2003 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
According to /etc/make.conf you have to add "ppc" to ACCEPT_KEYWORDS, afterwards you will be able to emerge gentoolkit-dev. I tried it, it works fine, but I want to wait for the macos keyword in those packages in fear to mess with macos libaries when emerging not-tested packages....
my /etc/make.conf
Code: |
# We use the ppc keyword until enough apps are macos keyworded
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="macos ppc"
|
Regards
dephzon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pindar Apprentice
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 220
|
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dephzon wrote: | I want to wait for the macos keyword in those packages in fear to mess with macos libaries when emerging not-tested packages....
|
I should have done the same, but my fingers itched to try and see whether it works. Now I'm stuck midway; a couple of packages built fine, but portage always craps out with these errors:
Code: | libsandbox.c: In function `init_wrappers':
libsandbox.c:218: error: `RTLD_NEXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
libsandbox.c:218: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
libsandbox.c:218: error: for each function it appears in.)
libsandbox.c: In function `get_dlsym':
libsandbox.c:346: error: `RTLD_NEXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
libsandbox.c: In function `open':
libsandbox.c:542: warning: `mode_t' is promoted to `int' when passed through `...'
libsandbox.c:542: warning: (so you should pass `int' not `mode_t' to `va_arg')
libsandbox.c: In function `init_env_entries':
libsandbox.c:956: warning: implicit declaration of function `strndupa'
libsandbox.c:956: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
libsandbox.c:965: warning: implicit declaration of function `strndup'
libsandbox.c:965: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
In file included from libsandbox.c:1363:
getcwd.c:224:1: warning: "__lstat" redefined
getcwd.c:207:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
In file included from libsandbox.c:1363:
getcwd.c: In function `__egetcwd':
getcwd.c:346: error: `__ptr_t' undeclared (first use in this function)
getcwd.c:346: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c:388: warning: implicit declaration of function `_D_ALLOC_NAMLEN'
getcwd.c:419: warning: implicit declaration of function `_D_EXACT_NAMLEN'
getcwd.c:443: error: void value not ignored as it ought to be
getcwd.c:461: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c:472: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c: In function `egetcwd':
getcwd.c:483: error: argument `size' doesn't match prototype
libsandbox.c:136: error: prototype declaration
In file included from libsandbox.c:1364:
canonicalize.c: In function `erealpath':
canonicalize.c:153: warning: implicit declaration of function `__mempcpy'
canonicalize.c:153: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
canonicalize.c:163: error: void value not ignored as it ought to be
make: *** [libsandbox.o] Error 1 |
I hope I didn't bork my system... I would say there is something to be said for the fink/DarwinPorts way of having all installed packages in one non-system directory. Nonetheless, I'm still very happy about emerge on os x! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stonent Veteran
Joined: 07 Aug 2003 Posts: 1139 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
I noticed the bootstrap injecting a lot of things that I didn't have which worried me.
When it was done, emerge didn't work because it says I don't have python. I've done a complete install of Xcode 1.2 for Panther and I thought that it had all the stuff I was going to need for portage. Where am I supposed to get Python? I tried compiling from source but it failed saying it can't find limits.h.
My suspicion is that OSX may be missing some things from the initial install. _________________ Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blackfede Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 178
|
Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ypu must install the full DeveloperTools Package, in order to have portage work. Anyway, the fastest way to find out if you have python installed on you machine is to open a terninal and write "python", if the python ide start you have it ;-p |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ukq7 n00b
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 23 Location: Yurop
|
Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
DiskBreaker wrote: | Hydraulix wrote: | Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it? |
Code: | export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin | (in your .bashrc)
|
Some people prefer tcsh. :p So in your .tcshrc add:
Code: | set path=( $path /usr/lib/portage/bin ) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
daSilVetZ n00b
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 Posts: 66 Location: CT
|
Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i hope they update bugs.gentoo.com asap in order to reflect gentoo-macos, so we can report working packages .. i submitted a couple in the general gentoo section but i'm sure it got overwhelmed by all the other reports.. _________________ Think Different, Think Emerge.
:: TiBook 1Ghz :: 768 RAM :: 60GB HD+80GB Ext FW
:: 19" EN9110 LCD ::
:: iSight :: Apple Wireless Mouse :: iPod mini Silver:: |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stonent Veteran
Joined: 07 Aug 2003 Posts: 1139 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
blackfede wrote: | Ypu must install the full DeveloperTools Package, in order to have portage work. Anyway, the fastest way to find out if you have python installed on you machine is to open a terninal and write "python", if the python ide start you have it ;-p |
Yeah it didn't do that. I thought Xcode was the full package. Unless there's something else missing. _________________ Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|