Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hey gentoo`ers I have a grub question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:26 pm    Post subject: Hey gentoo`ers I have a grub question Reply with quote

Hi all I am brandy new to gentoo and these forums. I have been using linux for about 7+ years and about two weeks ago tried gentoo for the first time :D

I used red hat all the way up to 7.3 and stuck it out there untill they decided to drop support on it, then moved to slack. I recently got a job at a small development company admining there gentoo network (I am sooooo lucky) I love the job and am learning new things everyday. And wow do I really love gentoo. All these years using other distro's and not trying gentoo I should be slaped :lol:

Anyways I went through a stage one install on my laptop and got everything running X - gnome ATI-3d alsa compiled 2.6.7 and was rockin. I have always used lilo for the boot loader and wanted to try grub for a few different reasons so I did the following.
Code:
emerge -C lilo

poked around and removed excess lilo garbage than
Code:
 emerge grub

ran grub and configured it to boot of my primary drive (hd0,0) setup it up and whatnot and configured grub.conf just to find when I reboot lilo still comes up.

so reading around I decided to wipe my MBR i used this command to do so :oops:
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1

yea, that wiped out my partition table...

Booted to LiveCd and used cfdisk to recreate my partiton tables mounted my file system ( /dev/hda1 = boot /dev/hda2 = swap /dev/hda3 = root )
chroot 'ed and installed grub again and configured it. Only when I rebooted I just get a black screen with a blinking cursor in the top left... At first I thought I really screwed up my files system using the command given above but than I installed lilo and I am up and running.

I am not to good with grub (never used it)
My question is what can I do to get grub installed??

I have one drive. With these partitons like I said above
/dev/hda1 = boot /dev/hda2 = swap /dev/hda3 = root

I tried this with grub
Code:

grub > root (hd0,0)
grub > setup (hd0,0)
grub > quit

My grub.conf
Code:

Title gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.4.26 root=/dev/hda3 vga=791


Thanks for reading and I will return the favor and help other people as I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I had the same problem when i installed it. You do everything right and it still doesn't work. I dont' know if it will work for you, but I unmerged then remerged grub without optimizations.

Code:
CFLAGS="" emerge grub


I read somewhere that grub did not like being run with optimizations (probably on this forum), and that fixed it for me. I haven't had any problem. If that doesn't help though I'm afraid I haven't the slightest idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Hey gentoo`ers I have a grub question Reply with quote

init-zero wrote:

Code:

grub > root (hd0,0)
grub > setup (hd0,0)
grub > quit


I think usage is:
Code:
grub > root (hd0,0)
grub > setup (hd0)
grub > quit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDLM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 179
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yup - setup (hd0) will install the bootloader to the MBR, setup (hd0,0) will install it to the first partition.

- Dave -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dashnu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Casco Maine

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great guys thanks!! Im a grub now :)
_________________
write quit bang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weirdalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CDLM wrote:
yup - setup (hd0) will install the bootloader to the MBR, setup (hd0,0) will install it to the first partition.

- Dave -


yep, yep ... fixed me up, too !!
:)
_________________
Simply Gentoo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum