View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ReeferMac
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: X for idiots Reply with quote

... OK, so besides the technical issue's I'm experiencing, all this X-server nonsense is making it difficult for me to figure out what it is I need to ask for help in accomplishing.

I'm new to linux, but have a strong computer background, and experience in Solaris.... I understand that the X-server is what draws the pretty pictures on the screen.

But just exactly how many different flavors are there out there? Xorg, Xfree, X11? X-Huh? I'm lost. I've got an nVidia card, does that matter?

I'm having trouble getting the GUI portion of my gentoo install running, but am not even sure what I should be trouble-shooting. I used the LiveCD install method for stage 1 of Gentoo2004.2. When I type "x" at the CLI, The thing takes off and gives me a checkboard screen with a big 'X' for my mouse cursor, which does respond.... but then does nothing else at all - I have to yank the power cord out the back to get it to rebooted (reset and power buttons on the front of the case do nothing, ctrl-alt-delete does nothing, etc.). I can move the mouse around all day long, but the 'launching of the Xserver never completes (I've let it sit overnight), and never dies/fails back to CLI. It just sits there.

/var/log/ shows the last two attempts from X11r6, but I can't spy anything terminal in there at all (last couple lines talk about font server not finding things where it expected). No hard-error messages, etc. I checked documentation and just found some very basic stuff about running config.sh scripts... which don't exist on my install, in the directory's the ReadMe points me to. :roll:

Should I drop back and punt and try one of the 2004.3 install's?

- Mac
Unne
l33t
l33t