View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chrisstankevitz Guru
Joined: 14 Dec 2003 Posts: 472 Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 7:24 am Post subject: "device busy" when removing kernel module. |
|
|
Why can't I remove the mod_quickcam kernel module?
Code: | tux root # modprobe -r mod_quickcam
mod_quickcam: Device or resource busy
|
Here are some other commands I tried to get some more info:
Code: | tux root # modprobe -r videodev
videodev: Device or resource busy
tux root # modprobe -r videodev mod_quickcam
videodev: Device or resource busy
mod_quickcam: Device or resource busy
tux root # modprobe -r mod_quickcam videodev
mod_quickcam: Device or resource busy
videodev: Device or resource busy
tux root # lsmod
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
nvidia 1965792 6 (autoclean)
mod_quickcam 40656 1
videodev 6816 2 [mod_quickcam]
|
What is the "Used by" colum in the lsmod output? "man lsmod" does not elaborate.
Thanks so much,
Chris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oumpah-pah Guru
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 575 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 8:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
'Used by' means that another module needs this one in order to function. In your case, mod_quickcam needs videodev. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
golloza Guru
Joined: 14 Mar 2004 Posts: 427
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 8:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
The column "Used by" lists the modules that depend on the module, mod_quickcam depends on videodev for example.
You cant remove the quickcam module because your camera is obviously still in use by some application.
videodev cant be removed because mod_quickcam is still in use and depends on videodev. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chrisstankevitz Guru
Joined: 14 Dec 2003 Posts: 472 Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
golloza wrote: | You cant remove the quickcam module because your camera is obviously still in use by some application. |
How do I determine which application is using mod_quickcam? I'm running in console mode and no app should be using it.
Thanks,
Chris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oumpah-pah Guru
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 575 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
From the modprobe man page :
Quote: | Your kernel may not support removal of modules. |
Did you enable module removal in your kernel ? You should have CONFIG_MODULE_UNLOAD=y in your .config file. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|