Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
booting problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MyrddinEmrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 10:48 pm    Post subject: booting problems Reply with quote

this is my first time installing linux and i ran into some problems...

after the instalation I get the message :

>>Determining root device...
>>The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell
boot()::

I just type /dev/hda4 , and everything runs smoothly from there on (i'm on gnome right now, using gentoo), but still, it's kind of a pain needing to type that every time i reboot onto gentoo

i have a single HD, one partition using WinXP (hda1), boot partition is hda2, swap is hda3, and root is hda4, using ReiserFS

here is my fstab :
Code:
/dev/hda2      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime      1 1
/dev/hda4      /      ReiserFS      noatime         0 0
/dev/hda3      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto         0 0
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults      0 0


and my lilo.conf :

Code:



boot = /dev/hda
map = /boot/.map
install = /boot/boot-menu.b
menu-scheme=Wb
prompt
delay = 50
vga = normal
default=Gentoo


#
# Linux bootable partition config begins
#
   image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
   #root=/dev/hda4
   initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
   label=Gentoo
   append="root=/dev/ram0 realroot=/dev/hda4 init=linuxrc"   


the root=/dev/hda4 line was uncomented... i tried to comment it just to see how it would turn out... same result

any1 has any ideas?

thx =)
_________________
There are 10 different types of persons... those who know binarie, and those who don't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mousee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 291
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your lilo.conf should look like this:
Quote:

boot = /dev/hda
map = /boot/.map
install = /boot/boot-menu.b
menu-scheme=Wb
prompt
delay = 50
vga = normal
default=Gentoo


#
# Linux bootable partition config begins
#
image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
label=Gentoo
root=/dev/ram0
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
append="real_root=/dev/hda4 init=linuxrc"


I don't see anything else wrong with your configs otherwise :)
The above assumes you were using genkernel to compile your
kernel btw... if you compiled manually the config would be different...

Also, I strongly recommend passing the 'read-only' call to Lilo... but
it's up to you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MyrddinEmrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wel... i changed my lilo.conf to look more like what you told me and... no results... still get the same error at booting, just in case ur wondering, i did run lilo after i edited :P

i'm kind of confuse as to what i could do to solve this...
_________________
There are 10 different types of persons... those who know binarie, and those who don't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
here is my fstab :
Code:
...
/dev/hda4      /      ReiserFS      noatime         0 0
...

Change that line to:
Code:
/dev/hda4      /      reiserfs      noatime         0 0
Mount does not recognize ReiserFS.
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
needforspeed
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 12
Location: KS

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having a similar problem...have searched repeatedly in the forums and have not found an answer that works for more than 1 person. This appears to be a serious bug in something, I don't know what. I have everything necessary compiled in the kernel, my lilo.conf is correct, my fstab has reiserfs instead of ReiserFS, etc, etc. I'm using gentoo-dev-sources and the same kernel version as MyrddinEmrys.

Has anybody figured out a real solution?
_________________
My Jokes site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MyrddinEmrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well... I also changed ReiserFS to reiserfs, and still get the same mesage (altought I no longer get a warning about fschk.ReiserFS not existing) :roll:

i'm still completly lost...
_________________
There are 10 different types of persons... those who know binarie, and those who don't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just a guess, but does init=linuxrc to init=/linuxrc help?
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MyrddinEmrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well.. at least for me it didn't work... :?
_________________
There are 10 different types of persons... those who know binarie, and those who don't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krlitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: py

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used lilo too in my first installation. My lilo.conf was as follow (gentoo-sources, genkernel and boot+root all together in one partition ext3):

Code:

# Gentoo bootable partition config begins
image=/boot/kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r6
 label=Gentoo
 read-only
 root=/dev/ram0
 append="init=/linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda1 ramdisk=8192"
 initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.26-gentoo-r6
# Gentoo bootable partition config ends


It was work, but few later I changed to grub and works too.

Did you tried grub?
_________________
Krl

PS: The English isn't my mother language, so forgive me any mistakes. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weyhan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 May 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just realized that no one have mention if they have run /sbin/lilo after any changes to the /etc/lilo.conf file. It must be in another thread that I remember reading the OP saying he/she did.

Anyway, make sure you run /sbin/lilo after any changes you have made in your lilo.conf and/or you have recompile your kernel. Sounds to me that's your problem.

Note: If that is your problem, please remember to make sure your lilo.conf is as close to the handbook's example as possible before you run /sbin/lilo. Because you have made so many changes testing it, you might have broken the configuration and get an unbootable box if you just blindly run /sbin/lilo.
_________________
Han.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon5710
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 232
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okey here is the sulotion, this is an older config for lilo but it works for me :)

ive changed this config
Code:

boot=/dev/hda
prompt
timeout=50
default=Gentoo
vga=788

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
             Label=gentoo
             read-only
             root=/dev/ram0 (the number)
             append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb3"
             initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.7-gentoo-r11


to this :
Code:

boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
prompt
timeout=50
lba32
default=Gentoo
vga=788 (option !)

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
             Label=gentoo
             root=/dev/hdb3
             read-only
             initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.7-gentoo-r11
             append="root=/dev/hdb3 init=/linuxrc"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MyrddinEmrys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you Anon =) that config worked for me! finally I can boot without seeing any strange errors

all hail the gentoo comunitie :D
_________________
There are 10 different types of persons... those who know binarie, and those who don't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JCBIgler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:30 am    Post subject: what about grub? Reply with quote

Hello all,

I just finished my first complete install of Gentoo.

I'm having the same problem, except I'm using grub.

Anyone have any idea on what parameters to change in grub to fix this issue? Right now, my grub.conf file looks like:

=====
default 1
timeout 11
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.4.26
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.4.26 root =/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 vga=791
real_root=/dev/hde3
initrd initrd-2.4.26

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
=====

I did the stage3 and genkernel install. I have my hard drive set up:
hde1=Windows XP, NTFS
hde2=swap
hde3=/, ext3

I didn't make an extra boot partition because I figured I was going to install the boot loader into the MBR on hde1. Could this be causeing the problem?

Everything else seemd to install fine, except that I got the error posted above upon reboot.

many great thanks, for the help.

-Justice C. Bigler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krlitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: py

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 2:47 pm    Post subject: Re: what about grub? Reply with quote

I did not make an extra boot partition too, and it is working fine. My grub.conf is like this (gentoo-sources, genkernel and boot+root all together in hda1):

Code:
...
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title gentoo linux 2004.1 2.4.26-gentoo-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/hda1 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192
initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.26-gentoo-r6
...


What is hde3? Did you mean hda3?

When you run
Code:
grub> setup (hd0)
grub will install in the MBR of hda.
_________________
Krl

PS: The English isn't my mother language, so forgive me any mistakes. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freeflyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I've been having the same problems as above for quite a while now. I've already posted my information here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=152855 (a sticky at the top of this forum). If anyone looking at this thread could offer me some clear instructions as to how to work my way through this problem that would be great.
~thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum