Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't find any wireless networks...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yoda_Oz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 143
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Can't find any wireless networks... Reply with quote

hi,
after spending hours trying to set up my wireless card (which, now if i knew how to do it should have taken about 15mins...) i cannot get the card to find any networks.

i have another computer which i want to connect to as an ad-hoc network. ive had that set up before through windows where the desktop pc is connected to the internet and then i set up internet connection sharing and share it through the wireless card on that computer. then i can connect my laptop to that wireless network and i can instantly connect to the internet...

however, in linux i cannot connect to the host computer. im using a program called WaveLAN Skanner (gtkskan) and that cannot find any networks either...

what do i need to setup in my wireless settings to make it detect my desktop pc?

thank you
_________________
DELL INSPIRON 5150 (2004)
Intel P4 HT 3.06
512Mb
nVidia GeForce FX Go5200 64Mb
Actiontec 802CAT1 Wireless PCMCIA
Linux Kernel vmlinuz-2.6.10-2-386
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hullabaluh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Location: CH

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try "iwlist scanning" which should show you informations of all BSS'

Code:

phoenix ~ # iwlist scanning
eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth1      Interface doesn't support scanning.

ath0      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0D:88:B9:66:44
                    Mode:Master
                    Encryption key:****-****-****-****-**
                    Quality=44/94  Signal level=-51 dBm  Noise level=-95 dBm
                    Mode:Master
                    ESSID:"wullanetz"
                    Frequency:2.437GHz (channel 6)
                    Bit Rate:1Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:2Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:5Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:6Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:9Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:11Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:12Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:18Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:24Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:36Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:48Mb/s
                    Bit Rate:54Mb/s

eth2      No scan results
phoenix ~ #

_________________
My name is Signor Fernasco
I drink my milk with tabasco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yoda_Oz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 143
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the results of iwconfig:
Code:

yodaoz root # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth1      no wireless extensions.

eth0      IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:""
          Mode:Managed  Channel:10  Access Point: FF:00:00:00:00:00
          Bit Rate:11Mb/s
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


this is my results of iwlist scanning:
Code:

yodaoz root # iwlist scanning
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning : Operation not supported

eth1      Interface doesn't support scanning : Operation not supported

eth0      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 02:E0:45:01:E9:30
                    ESSID:"16SO302WT"
                    Mode:Ad-Hoc
                    Channel:10
                    Encryption key:off


what does this mean?[/code]
_________________
DELL INSPIRON 5150 (2004)
Intel P4 HT 3.06
512Mb
nVidia GeForce FX Go5200 64Mb
Actiontec 802CAT1 Wireless PCMCIA
Linux Kernel vmlinuz-2.6.10-2-386
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hullabaluh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Location: CH

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even in a ad-hoc network a network manager has to be present. For this a computer (in this case your windoze box i think) uses a 128bit random number to create an BSS (a radio cell within which one the computers can communicate). That's the ESSID. Your network is on channel 10 and no encryption is used. I don't know which address the ADDRESS is. The one of the linux-box or the windoze-pc (would be the "master").

I've never built an ad-hoc network but I think you can now type
Code:

iwconfig eth0 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig eth0 channel 10
iwconfig eth0 essid 16SO302WT


Perhaps it works after the first command, perhaps it doesn't work at all. Perhaps you have to adjust the default gateway. In /etc/conf.d/net you have to indicate the default gateway. This would be something like
Code:

gateway="eth0/<ip-of-your-router>"


But I don't know if your Doze-Box routes correctly. If Redmond accepts standards it porbably will.

Good luck
Aurel
_________________
My name is Signor Fernasco
I drink my milk with tabasco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yoda_Oz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 143
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here tis:

Code:

yodaoz root # iwconfig eth0 mode ad-hoc
yodaoz root # iwconfig eth0 channel 10
yodaoz root # iwconfig eth0 essid 16SO302WT
yodaoz root # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth1      no wireless extensions.

eth0      IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"16SO302WT"
          Mode:Ad-Hoc  Channel:10  Cell: 02:E0:45:01:E9:30
          Bit Rate:11Mb/s
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


ive also added the gateway line to my /etc/con.f/net.

the ip address of my windoze gateway is 192.168.0.1.

the essid shown here is not a random number... its one i made up.
i still cant seem to get a 'link'. how do i make the windoze pc the master?
_________________
DELL INSPIRON 5150 (2004)
Intel P4 HT 3.06
512Mb
nVidia GeForce FX Go5200 64Mb
Actiontec 802CAT1 Wireless PCMCIA
Linux Kernel vmlinuz-2.6.10-2-386
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coffeeman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Brasil

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

witch wireless card ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yoda_Oz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 143
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actiontec PCMCIA 802.11b wireless PC Card.

i got it all working eventually... it was actually a piece of piss.

i just typed in the above commands:
iwconfig eth1 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig eth1 essid 16so302wt

and in the net.conf i added 192.168.0.1 as the default gateway and then everything worked...

i edited the conf file in the /etc/network/pcmcia (or whatever, im not sure of the exact directory or file now) which allowed me to make the settings id just written above to be used everytime the wireless card is turned on.
_________________
DELL INSPIRON 5150 (2004)
Intel P4 HT 3.06
512Mb
nVidia GeForce FX Go5200 64Mb
Actiontec 802CAT1 Wireless PCMCIA
Linux Kernel vmlinuz-2.6.10-2-386
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum