View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:39 pm Post subject: 2.4.26-gentoo-r7 and boot up "errors". |
|
|
Hey all!
I've just gotten 2004.2 installed on my laptop (Compaq x1029cl). And everything is cool, except for one minor iritation...I keep getting these errors on bootup:
Code: |
Missing Kernel or Usermode driver radeonfb
unable to load module radeonfb
Missing Kernel or Usermode driver 8139cp
unable to load module 8139cp
Missing Kernel or Usermode driver i810_audio
unable to load module i810_audio
|
It appears as though everything is working fine despite these errors. I'm wondering if I should be worried about them? If I should, how do I take care of them.
BTW, I emerged gentoo-sources and got 2.4.26-gentoo-r7 and then used genkernel to compile and install the kernel...if that helps with anything. _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pmjdebruijn Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 506 Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please paste your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4...
Are you using automatic hardware detection?
Do you have any of the listed hardware? A Radeon, a Realtek 8139c, of Intel i810 audio?
Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First the "modules.autload.d/kernel-2.4"
Code: |
# /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4: kernel modules to load when system boots.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4,v 1.1 2003/03/09 09:06:23 azarah Exp $
#
# Note that this file is for 2.4 kernels. If you need different modules
# for a 2.5 kernel, you can create /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.5
#
# Add the names of modules that you'd like to load when the system
# starts into this file, one per line. Comments begin with # and
# are ignored. Read man modules.autoload for additional details.
# For example:
# 3c59x
battery
ac
processor
fan
thermal
|
Do I have any of the hardware? Yes, my laptop has them all.
Video: Mobility Radeon 9200
Nic: Realtec 8139
Audio: Intel 820 (?) part of the chipset.
I'm using Hotplug to auto-detect all of the hardware - mainly for USB and PCMCIA[/list] _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pmjdebruijn Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 506 Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Right...
Let me guess, you compiled that hardware straight into the kernel itself...
Anyway automatic hardware detection detects that hardware and then tries to modprobe those modules, which do not exist, because they are in the kernel itself...
Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gotcha! I'm sure I did compile them in...
So If i would have compiled them as modules...these messages would go away?
Actually, the sound card is handled by ALSA so I should do that anyway.
Thanks for the pointer. _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I was wrong...
I just went and looked at my current kernel config and all of those items are built as modules.
So we're back to square one... _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pmjdebruijn Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 506 Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Strange... Very strange...
Try to determine exactly where during boot this occurs... Try disabling hotplug, reboot and see if the errors disappear.
Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's defiantly being caused by hotplug. There "errors" scroll by between "pci hotplugging" and "usb hotplugging". If I disable hotplug, the "errors" go away, but so does a lot of my hardware. Not saying I can't get that solved another way (like /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4) but I'd prefer not to simply because of the USB devices that I use.
I found the file "/etc/hotplug/blacklist" and by the looks of it, by adding the three modules in question to this file, I should eliminate my problem. Do you agree? _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pmjdebruijn Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 506 Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not really...
I think if you blacklist em, hotplug will load, but it just won't load those modules and you wont get your hardware support...
Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ScatterBrain n00b
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 44 Location: Lexington, KY USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pmjdebruijn wrote: |
I think if you blacklist em, hotplug will load, but it just won't load those modules and you wont get your hardware support...
|
Well, I think that's what I'm after...let me explain.
All of the modules that hotplug is complaining about - radeonfb, 8139cp, and i810_audio - are not really needed in my case.
I don't need radeonfb because I'm using vesa fb settings for my console. That's working.
I don't need 8139cp because the kernel loads 8139too for my wired nic. That's working.
I don't need i810_audio because I use ALSA instead of the Kernel modules. That's working.
All of the hardware that these modules support is already handled in other ways (and I think that's the big problem - trying to support a single device with multiple modules - like in the case of the 8139 nic).
Don't get me wrong, I'm probably talking out of my ass...I'm SUCH a newbie..but it makes sense to me this way. The kernel loads (which loads the vesa frame buffer and 8139too), then ALSA loads (loading snd_intel8x0) and then hotplug loads - trying to load things I think are already taken care of.
If I'm wrong don't hesitate to call me an idiot newbie...I've not tried to use the blacklist file, so I don't know if it'll work or not. Once I get a chance I might try it with something non-critical like the 8139 nic. I'll report my findings... _________________ "I thrive on change... I thrive on making other people change."
-- Calvin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pmjdebruijn Guru
Joined: 24 Jul 2003 Posts: 506 Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, I assumed you needed the modules...
Well if that's the case, blacklist them right away... You're probably right then.
Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|