View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:04 am Post subject: DRI, Rage M3, and general ATi issues... |
|
|
All righty, first let me explain the root of the problem. I just installed Gentoo on a laptop for a friend of mine. It's a Dell C600. Everything is pretty much running smooth. The problem is that while in X (KDE specifically) whenever he's listening to music and does much of anything (scroll through a webpage, reload it, etc.) music he's listening to (on JuK) will choke and hiccup. This thing had a 1GHz proc. Initially I thought this was a DMA issue, but DMA is enabled on the HD.
With that in mind I'm assuming the problem is video related as in, hardware acceleration isn't being used. I read the ATi FAQ located here:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/ati-faq.xml
However it wasn't very helpful in that it has instructions for XFree rather than x.org. One part in particular confused me:
Code: | # VIDEO_CARDS="rage128" emerge xfree-drm |
DRM? Is there supposed to be an xorg-drm merge somewhere? Is it built in?
Here are some snippets from his xorg.conf:
Code: | Section "Module"
# Do not enable GLcore and dri. nVidia Driver takes care of these.
Load "GLcore"
Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "v4l"
# Load "dbe"
# Load "xie"
# Load "pex5"
EndSection |
Code: | Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
VendorName "ati"
Driver "r128"
VideoRam 8192
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection |
Code: | Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection |
Oh yes, and I compiled AGP, Intel AGP, DRM and ATi Rage 128 DRM into the kernel as modules. AGP is working fine.
How do I tell if DRI/DRM is working? What might be causing it not to work? Am I completely wrong and could something else be causing the sound issues when scrolling? _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace!
Last edited by cult hero on Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:09 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenthepostman Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 245 Location: Stanford, CA
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I believe you can only use either the kernel DRM module or emerge the separate module. From the ATI faq:
Important: Your kernel must have agpgart support and not have the DRM modules compiled in.
That is regarding xfree-drm.
Did you make sure to run the opengl-update command?? I believe if you use the kernel modules and xorg, it should be
Code: | opengl-update xorg-x11 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I did the opengl-update. No dice.
And it didn't say to have DRM and AGP seperate, it just said not to compile the stuff in as in... keep it modular (which I did). I'll play with it more in a little while. Thanks though. _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blaster999 l33t
Joined: 09 May 2004 Posts: 902 Location: Between keyboard and chair
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
What video card is it? Is it compatible with the official ATI drivers? If it is, then installing them would be a better idea. If it isn't, then I would recommend compiling DRI from cvs. It isn't complicated but can give good results. Or, you can compile the xorg with option VIDEO_CARDS="cardname" in your make.conf (ex. VIDEO_CARDS="radeon").
About the sound: is artsd running? It can make sound crappy. Disable sound system in KDE Control Center->Multimedia and see if it helps. _________________ 60s: sex, drugs, rock'n'roll
90s: sux, bugs, drag'n'drop
---
Some multimedia keys refuse to work? See my mini-howto:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1896734#1896734 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bleh. I feel like an idiot. I typed out this post once and hit "preview" then closed the window. The video card is an ATi Rage Mobilty (M3). Do I need to specifically tell xorg to use that video card? (Doesn't it just use all of them by default?)
Anyway... I might try canning Arts because everything works otherwise. _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blaster999 l33t
Joined: 09 May 2004 Posts: 902 Location: Between keyboard and chair
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oops, didn't notice the "Rage" in the topic, sorry
Then you have only 2 options: use xorg's Direct Rendering or DRI CVS (the same, but newer version, maybe faster and possibly less stable).
VIDEO_CARDS should be set to r128 if you want to use xorg's DRI. Notice that you may still need that kernel module made for your kernel for 3d to work - so IMO dri cvs is better. _________________ 60s: sex, drugs, rock'n'roll
90s: sux, bugs, drag'n'drop
---
Some multimedia keys refuse to work? See my mini-howto:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1896734#1896734 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
So I *have* to include that little "VIDEO_CARDS" in there for DRI? I mean, the r128 driver already exists. I thought that worked kinda like the old ALSA thing where it only compiled the driver you needed rather than all of them. _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blaster999 l33t
Joined: 09 May 2004 Posts: 902 Location: Between keyboard and chair
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | the r128 driver already exists |
You mean the r128.so? You also need the kernel module (I think it is r128.ko in /usr/lib/modules/kernelversion/char/drm/). Without it you'll get no HW 3D.
EDIT: The only way I managed to get Direct Rendering working on my laptop with S3 Savage/MX was compiling DRI from CVS. Instructions can be found here: http://dri.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/Building _________________ 60s: sex, drugs, rock'n'roll
90s: sux, bugs, drag'n'drop
---
Some multimedia keys refuse to work? See my mini-howto:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1896734#1896734 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pactoo Guru
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
First of all, try running arts in realtime mode (you need to set artswrapper setuid and enable "running arts in realtime mode" in kcontrol). That will most likely will make your sound rock solid, independent of other problems. If it is mostly for playback, try setting it even to halve duplex.
As for drm and x.org, I do have the same problem, however, nobody seems to know anyting. My thread:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=206375&highlight= |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pactoo Guru
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, and for: How do I tell if DRI/DRM is working?
"glxinfo" is your friend, just type it in your xterm and it will say something like "Direct Rendering: yes". Or not. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you! I won't have access to that machine until tonight, but that bit of information should help out a lot. If I find anything that solves your problem I'll fire off a note. _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've finally had time to look at the laptop and glxinfo is confirming that there is no direct rendering action going on. However I've tracked the problem down:
Code: | drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (Unknown error 999)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (Unknown error 999)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
drmOpenDevice: minor is 0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (Unknown error 999)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (Unknown error 999)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
[drm] failed to load kernel module "r128"
(II) R128(0): [drm] drmOpen failed
(EE) R128(0): [dri] DRIScreenInit failed. Disabling DRI. |
I've got nothing in my /dev/dri, even when I manually modprobe the r128 driver. Also, when doing "dmesg | grep drm" I get:
Code: | [drm] Initialized r128 2.5.0 20030725 on minor 0: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x
[drm] Module unloaded
[drm] Initialized r128 2.5.0 20030725 on minor 0: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x |
Those are probably just from me doing things manually. It appears that my only problem is a device node that doesn't want to appear in /dev so for now I'm going to compile AGP, Intel AGP and the DRM stuff directly into the kernel and see if that helps. If it does, I'll update, if it doesn't I'll plead for help like a little kid and cry, "HELP ME!" Anyway, wish me luck! Of course even if it does work I would be interested to know how to make this work when things are modules.
Have you had any good fortune yet pactoo? _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cult hero Apprentice
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Las Vegas
|
Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I compiled it in and no dice. dmesg returned this:
Code: | Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected an Intel 440BX Chipset.
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xf4000000
[drm] Initialized r128 2.5.0 20030725 on minor 0: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x |
Do I have to do something to make this create a device node? _________________ Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
loxety n00b
Joined: 25 May 2004 Posts: 46 Location: Washington D.C.
|
Posted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 8:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have a dell c600 with ati m3.. xorg and a mostly monolithic kernel. Everything but hardware3d works. After updating the BIOS from A03 to A23 I saw a huge speedup, websites loaded faster, scrolling was way faster but still no hardware 3d. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|