View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Anarcho Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 2970 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:47 pm Post subject: strange wireless lan problem [Solved] |
|
|
Hi!
I have a strange wlan problem.
I got a Server which has a gigabit network for my workstation and a wlan card for the laptop.
I configured dhcp and the server also routes to the internet.
The ethernet works great.
I managed to get the ad-hoc wlan network that the laptops recieves a IP Adress by the Server. But then the laptop can't ping.
The server can ping the laptop, but only when i specifie the iface like
I figured out that the connection works when i plug in the cable in the network.
The strange thing is: The laptop is sending with the wlan0 iface but recieving with the eth0. That's why it can't ping with only the wlan0 iface.
Have anybody any idea how to fix this? I think it is a miss-config at the server because even windows wlan clients can't ping, but can be pinged.
My Settings (Server)
routing table
Code: |
ping 192.168.0.116 -I wlan0
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
kln-145-253-4-7 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
localhost * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
localhost * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0
169.108.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default kln-145-253-4-7 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ppp0
|
iwconfig wlan0:
Code: |
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"xxxxxx"
Mode:Ad-Hoc Frequency:2.437GHz Cell: 00:32:45:32:19:73
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:10 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
RTS thr:4096 B Fragment thr:4096 B
Encryption key:xxxxxx Security mode:open
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-39 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
ifconfig:
Code: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:20:ED:45:9C:1E
inet addr:169.108.3.2 Bcast:169.108.3.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2487373 errors:5 dropped:34 overruns:3 frame:0
TX packets:2739566 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1122964180 (1070.9 Mb) TX bytes:1464271262 (1396.4 Mb)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xdc00
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:FC:FB:10:EF
inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:245960 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:295551 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:39411524 (37.5 Mb) TX bytes:211246677 (201.4 Mb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xf000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1061 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1061 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:100689 (98.3 Kb) TX bytes:100689 (98.3 Kb)
ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:xxxxx P-t-P:145.253.4.77 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:597408 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:845629 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:48324964 (46.0 Mb) TX bytes:686134068 (654.3 Mb)
wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:80:C8:2D:20:2C
inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:684 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:27 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:78983 (77.1 Kb) TX bytes:1902 (1.8 Kb)
Interrupt:5 Memory:ea024000-ea025fff
|
If you need any other informations don't hesitate to ask.
Last edited by Anarcho on Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:10 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
devon l33t

Joined: 23 Jun 2003 Posts: 943
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It looks like you have the same network off eth1 and wlan0 on the server, 192.168.0.0/24. I am assuming that the kernel is selecting only one return path for 192.168.0.0/24 and it selecting eth1 instead of wlan0. It may be better to use a different IP network on wlan0 and eth1. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anarcho Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 2970 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh man...
I should have noticed that...
damn....that was the solution!!
Thank you sooo much!
I worked for days....I must be blind or dump.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|