View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
carpman Advocate
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:59 pm Post subject: reiser4 partition not mounting |
|
|
Hello, trying reiser4 on my system but can't get the partition to mount.
I have patched gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.7-r11 emerge reiser4progs and created reiser4 partition.
Code: |
unmount /var/cache/http-replicator
mkfs.reiser4 /dev/md3
|
I edit my fstab with:
Code: |
/dev/md3 /var/cache/http-replicator reiser4 noatime,user,exec 0 0
|
All seemed to go well until i tried re-mounting partion.
Code: |
mount /var/cache/http-replicator
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on dev/md3 or too many mounted file systems
|
I did compile reiser4 support into kernel and have searched for other reiser4 fstab examples so not sure what i missing?
cheers _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
josh Guru
Joined: 05 Feb 2003 Posts: 473 Location: Milky Way: Solar System: Earth: North America: USA: NY: Buffalo
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try just doing 'reiserfs' instead of reiser4. ex:
Code: | /dev/md3 /var/cache/http-replicator reiserfs noatime,user,exec 0 0 |
or just incase the problem is somewhere else in the line options, try:
Code: | mount -t reiserfs /dev/md3 /var/cache/http-replicator |
good luck! _________________ -Josh |
|
Back to top |
|
|
carpman Advocate
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for reply josh, tried both your suggestion but got same error _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
josh Guru
Joined: 05 Feb 2003 Posts: 473 Location: Milky Way: Solar System: Earth: North America: USA: NY: Buffalo
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hm. I'm about out of ideas then. Off hand, the error looks like either its the wrong file system (not reiser) or there is an error in the superblock. Try mounting with autofs (mount -t autofs /dev/md3 /var/cache/http-replicator) or try remaking the filesystem.
I remember when I first installed gentoo, I had a problem gettting fdisk to read my hd. I ended up having to initialize the first 1K of the disk with 0's. I can't remember quite how I did this now. It used 'dd' and was something like:
Code: | dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/md3 count=1k |
something to that effect. But be careful with it. I'm not responsible for any lost data. Because you will lose all data on the partition, and maybe on the disk. I've never used it to initialize a partition, just whole disks. _________________ -Josh |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oberyno Guru
Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 467 Location: /bin/zsh
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The correct line for reiser4 is reiser4 in your fstab and mount -t. There is a bug on the not mounting issue here. In short, if you are using a new snapshot of reiser4, you also need a new snapshot of libaal and reiser4progs.
There is also a similar thread here. Gentree had the same problem in his second to the last post, but was apparently not able to fix it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thechris Veteran
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 Posts: 1203
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm, a lot of times people mispesll reiser. resier looks very similar. so if the code snip isn't a direct quote from fstab, i'd say to double check.
try:
mkdir /test
mount -t reiser4 /test
umount /test
rmdir /test
if that fails then there may be a bad superblock...
also, is it "user" or "users" for the mounting option. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
carpman Advocate
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have double checked fstab and entries spellings are correct, the partion worked fine when i had it as reiserfs.
Think it may be related to issues in linked threads from oberyno post, the bug issue seems to be resolved though, i am using kernel older patch as it was the only one i could find for gentoo-dev-sources, may try the love sources but they seem to be having issues as well. Using masked reiser4progs from portage.
Will see if can find late updated kernel or try patching a vanilla kernel.
This box will be a server only doing, print,samba,scanner,rsync mirror,http-replicator so desktop performance is not such an issue though would like to get as much performance from it as possible. _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
davidgurvich Veteran
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 1063
|
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try using the nosuid in your fstab to mount the reiser4 partition. For example, /dev/??? /mount_point nosuid 0 0. Might need rw. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
carpman Advocate
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
davidgurvich wrote: | Try using the nosuid in your fstab to mount the reiser4 partition. For example, /dev/??? /mount_point nosuid 0 0. Might need rw. |
Thanks i will try that, one i did notice when looking through dmesg is that when this arrray/partitions fails the error reported is something about a key size mismatch! _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oberyno Guru
Joined: 15 Feb 2004 Posts: 467 Location: /bin/zsh
|
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you enable large keys in the kernel? Large keys and short keys are binary incompatible, and small keys have problems( actually I'm not sure, but no one uses them; large keys are better). You should probably remake your kernel with large keys and then run mkfs.reiser4 again.
Edit: the kernel option is CONFIG_REISER4_LARGE_KEY. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|