Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Web Browsers and Ndiswrapper Wireless, freezes sysetm.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
makton3g
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:02 pm    Post subject: Web Browsers and Ndiswrapper Wireless, freezes sysetm. Reply with quote

I own a Dell Insprion 9100. (ATI 9700, Boardcom wireless), an I'm new to Gentoo. I'm having an issue with my system freezing up when I use a web browser while on my wireless network.

1: My ndiswrapper is working and my wireless card is talking to my router. I have all the correct info in my iwconfig and my ifconfig. I can use Links-2 to browser sites, and I even emerged while attached to my network. No problems pinging and no error messages. From what I see the Wireless netowrk is fine. MY wireless network is all default and I use dhcpcd wlan0 to initiate my wireless network.

2: If I'm using the regular Lan cable, Epiphany and mozilla work just fine. I'm typing this from Epiphany right now, attached to a network by a cable.

The problem: If I'm using my wireless ability to get to the internet and I use Epiphany or Mozilla to go to a page (like www.gentoo.com). It will start to transmit and recieve data, then hardware freeze. I get no errors in my logs, and no reason for the crash.

Now I've had about 5 distros on the computer so far and I've never had this issue of a hardware freeze using my wireless network and an X-webbrowser. Does anyone have an idea where I should even start here?
makton3g
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, wanted to add a bit more. Looking at my iwconfig I have one problem (I think)