fdisk in 2004.2 amd64 minimal can't find HD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BillyDoc
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:30 pm    Post subject: fdisk in 2004.2 amd64 minimal can't find HD Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

Sorry to be so stupid, I have zero experience with Linux of any flavor . . . but I like the idea of Gentoo very much and am trying to learn. Unfortunately, I can't seem to get past something that I suspect is very basic. For some reason I can't get anything to recognize the HD using 2004.2 amd64 minimal . . . but 2004.2 x86 minimal will see it with no problem.

My system is built around a Tyan Thunder K8W board with two 246's and 4 gig of memory. The HD is an array of 6 scsi drives controlled by a LSI U320-2 Megaraid controller set up as raid 5-0 (two raid 5 arrays with interleaved reads, which makes it VERY fast). I think that the HD setup is transparent to the processors via the controller, but I'm not positive of that. Just to make sure all the hardware worked, I installed Suse 9.1 for amd64 and . . . well it ain't windoze is it? Wow. I played with that for a while, but I really have to have some flavor of windows for my work (Mechanical Desktop, Hypermill, Solidworks, etc.). I was originally planning on installing Gentoo and running win 2K under vmware . . . but I understand from the forums that this is somewhat less than reliable at this point. So, I am trying to set up a dual-boot system with win 2k and Gentoo.