Partition table a bit messed up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Novack
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:46 pm    Post subject: Partition table a bit messed up Reply with quote

Hello all,

I've been using Gentoo for about 1,5 years now (on a home server) and sometime ago I switched over to a bigger hard disk. I did an image with Norton Ghost and wrote it over to the new HD and booted up with it. Everything worked fine, except that I had foolishly used the Ghost's resizing ability, which of course does not work with non-Windows filesystems.

Now I have a situation where sfdisk shows a full sized partition (hda3) but when I check empty space with df it shows a smaller partition. The partition is only partly formatted, because Ghost succeeded in changing the partition table but could not format the extra space.

Now can I somehow change the partition table to correspond to the real situation without losing data? Then I could proceed by resizing the partition with tools better suited for it :)

Here's the sfdisk -l output
Code:

Disk /dev/hda: 2055 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start     End   #cyls    #blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *      0+     13      14-    112423+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2         14      76      63     506047+  82  Linux swap
/dev/hda3         77    2046    1970   15824025   83  Linux
                end: (c,h,s) expected (1023,254,63) found (1022,254,63)
/dev/hda4          0       -       0          0    0  Empty

And the df output:
Code:

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda3              5735024   5163608    571416  91% /

Any help would be appriciated. Otherwise its going to be backup -> wipe -> reinstall. I hope could avoid the two latter steps with some help.
aetius