View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bulash n00b
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:27 pm Post subject: can't load modules with kernel-2.6.8.1 [solved] |
|
|
I'm having problems loading modules after a kernel upgrade. Everything works fine with 2.6.7 (development-sources), but with 2.6.8.1 not a single module can be loaded:
Code: | FATAL: Module <whatever> not found. |
I have loadable module support in my config (In fact, I am using the same config for the two kernels) and have already tried recompiling module-init-tools. Recompiling the old kernel (2.6.7) does not yield the errors, so I guess it must be related to the new kernel.
Thanks
Last edited by bulash on Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:19 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fabiolla Apprentice
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 277 Location: somewhere
|
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
what does ls -l /lib/modules show ?
I had once the same problem, the reason in my case was, that I forgot to make modules_install. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bulash n00b
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
no, they are all there. I didn't forget to install them. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sgaduuw Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 133 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try running "depmod -a" and then modprobing your modules _________________ my website |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bulash n00b
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for the quick replies
however, after depmod -a the modules still weren't found... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bulash n00b
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
installed linux26-headers and now it seems ok... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drakos7 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Feb 2003 Posts: 294 Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, when was anyone notified about this switch from linux-headers to linux26-headers? Messed me up for a while that is for sure. So are all of us 2.6.8 kernel users supposed to Code: | emerge unmerge linux-headers | and Code: | emerge linux26-headers |
I have ugly QM_MODULES error now. That I hope to fix.
When you do the upgrade you will see the message Code: | Kernel headers are usually only used when recompiling glibc, as such, following the installation
* of newer headers, it is advised that you re-merge glibc as follows:
* emerge glibc
* Failure to do so will cause glibc to not make use of newer features present in the updated kerne | which is just fine and dandy. Time to see if a reboot fixes my QM_MODULES issue... _________________ "People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use." Soren Kierkegaard (1813 - 1855) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drakos7 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Feb 2003 Posts: 294 Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol
|
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | emerge -C modutils && emerge module-init-tools | has fixed my QM_MODULES woes thankfully. No need to reboot! One of the lovely things about linux I must say! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
plate Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 1663 Location: Berlin
|
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Now, if you happen to keep your distfiles on an NFS share, have a modular NIC and a broken CD-ROM drive like myself , this needs a little more effort. I had to compile a non-modular kernel to get back online after the next reboot, then re-emerge module-init-tools (which indeed fixes this problem).
I'm running a modular kernel 2.6.8.1-mm4 again now, and I'm making this sticky for a couple of days since I expect other people to fall into the same trap of "accidentally" emerging modutils-2.4.27, when it's really just a relic in their world file from the old days, and should be disregarded if they don't plan on reverting to a 2.4 kernel... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
yutt n00b
Joined: 22 Sep 2003 Posts: 59
|
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just went through the same ordeal as plate. I do not understand why all of the sudden this happened. I have never used a 2.4 kernel, and never had a problem until this morning.
I shut my PC off every night (saves electricity), but booting this morning I see no modules are loading, and since my NIC is modular I had no way to even figure out what was going on, or easily fix it once I did.
I'm in the process of fixing it right now. This is incredibly frustrating. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
yutt n00b
Joined: 22 Sep 2003 Posts: 59
|
Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am trying;
Code: | ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge -k =linux26-header-2.6.8.1 |
and getting an error that it is masked. Can anyone help point me in the right direction?
It's probably something simple, but I am tired and annoyed.
Update:
Code: | emerge /usr/portage/sys-kernel/linux26-headers/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1.ebuild |
That works. Though I know there must be a more standard way to do that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paranoid Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Posts: 290 Location: Portland, ME
|
Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This was a problem for me also-unmerge module-init-tools-3.0-r2 and go back to r1. BINGO _________________ A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what's going on.
William S. Burroughs |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cram Guru
Joined: 17 Nov 2002 Posts: 312 Location: Saskatoon, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | this was a problem for me also-unmerge module-init-tools-3.0-r2 and go back to r1. BINGO |
Are you sure you have to go back to -r1?
I think simply recompiling the current version should do it. _________________ aaarggghhhh.
Good point Chewie. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paranoid Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Posts: 290 Location: Portland, ME
|
Posted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Didn't work for me but let me say I have a rather large buzz-on. It was the quickest fix I could come up with. Tomorrow I will explore it further.
EDIT:getting rid of modutils & recompiling module-init-tools-3.0-r2 does indeed work. _________________ A paranoid is someone who knows a little of what's going on.
William S. Burroughs
Last edited by Paranoid on Sat Aug 28, 2004 4:13 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
b1c1l1 n00b
Joined: 24 May 2003 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
yutt wrote: | I am trying;
Code: | ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge -k =linux26-header-2.6.8.1 |
and getting an error that it is masked. Can anyone help point me in the right direction?
It's probably something simple, but I am tired and annoyed.
Update:
Code: | emerge /usr/portage/sys-kernel/linux26-headers/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1.ebuild |
That works. Though I know there must be a more standard way to do that. |
Code: | mkdir /etc/portage
echo sys-kernel/linux26-headers -* >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -av linux26-headers |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
EzInKy Veteran
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1742 Location: Kentucky
|
Posted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Glad I found this thread. It needs a bump. I had the same problem, none of my modules would load. After I booted into my "rescue" partition and chrooting into Gentoo I reemerged module-init-tools and all is well again. _________________ Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jefklak l33t
Joined: 26 Oct 2003 Posts: 818 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
EzInKy wrote: | Glad I found this thread. It needs a bump. I had the same problem, none of my modules would load. After I booted into my "rescue" partition and chrooting into Gentoo I reemerged module-init-tools and all is well again. |
Same here, after a strange emerge system everything went wrong... _________________ {Linux User #333296}
Kernel 2.6.9-nitro4! << hurrah |
|
Back to top |
|
|
majx n00b
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 14 Location: Vienna, Austria
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 6:23 pm Post subject: Bug already filled |
|
|
There is an opened bug at
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=61854
Have added my comment...
Code: | emerge module-init-tools |
will make it (modules-loading and so on) work again hopefully
Greetings
majx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CodAv Apprentice
Joined: 09 May 2004 Posts: 170 Location: Essen, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 7:19 am Post subject: Re: Bug already filled |
|
|
As stated above by drakos7, you may need to unmerge modutils before re-emerging module-init-tools. I had the same problem, and it did the trick for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mbjr Guru
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 Posts: 531 Location: Budapest/Hungary
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having the same problem and well, I'm working on removing modutils... but I get the following:
Code: | Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 2584, in ?
if 1==unmerge(myaction, myfiles):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 2040, in unmerge
retval=portage.unmerge(mysplit[0],mysplit[1],portage.root,mysettings,unmerge_action not in ["clean","prune"])
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2549, in unmerge
mylink.unmerge(trimworld=mytrimworld,cleanup=1)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5867, in unmerge
myworld=open(self.myroot+WORLD_FILE,"w")
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '//var/lib/portage/world' |
what the hell this means?
I've looked at the ebuild, it looks alright...
also I have notices like this when unmerge begins:
QA Notice: ECLASS 'flag-o-matic' inherited illegally in sys-apps/modutils-2.4.27
QA Notice: ECLASS 'eutils' inherited illegally in sys-apps/modutils-2.4.27 _________________ mb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rastachops n00b
Joined: 25 Sep 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi
I've got the same sort of problem with loading a module for my via-rhine NIC. QM_MODULES problem. So I unmerged modutils then tried to emerge module-init-tools but rather than using the file in /usr/portage/.... it tries, unsuccessfully to download this from the web.
So I resorted to going into the directory where the module-init-tools pack is and had a go at installing it manually (unpack,configure,make,make install). Is that the correct way to do it? If not how should I install it manually? If this is totallly the wrong approach can anyone offer me some help?
Cheers & TIA |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jammib n00b
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 35 Location: UK
|
Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:18 pm Post subject: Looks good to me... |
|
|
Quote: | (unpack,configure,make,make install) |
should work a treat, if it doesn't you'll probably find more details in the README/INSTALL files when you unpack the tarball. If that doesn't work go to the homepage listed on an emerge -s and see if there are any more instructions.
Jammib |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bennettp Guru
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 335 Location: on my back and tumbling
|
Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rastachops: cd into /usr/portage/sys-apps/module-init-tools. Check to see if you still have the old ebuild for the module-init-tools package. If you do, great! Just run "emerge /usr/portage/sys-apps/module-init-tools/module-init-tools-<version>.ebuild", where <version> is the version of the package you have in /usr/portage/distfiles.
If you're using a 2.6 kernel, add sys-apps/modutils to /etc/portage/package.mask; this will prevent it from ever being used again!
Edit: oops, that should be package.mask, not package.unmask!
(I had the QM_OMDULES problem yesterday! I need to use wlan-ng, which is modular only, to get around my buggy firmware. I hopped onto my brother's computer, burnt module-init-tools, and put it into my computer, only to find that I'd compiled the iso9660 filesystem as a module! ...) _________________ Registered Linux User #363420 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rastachops n00b
Joined: 25 Sep 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have:
Code: | ls /usr/portage/sys-apps/module-init-tools/
module-init-tools-3.0-r2.ebuild |
And when I execute
Code: | emerge /usr/portage/sys-apps/module-init-tools/module-init-tools-3.0-r2.ebuild |
It says that it's emerging module-init-tools-3.0-r2 but tries to download modutils from the net (why is it doing this?? I told it to install module-init-tools not modutils!) then fails and doesn't install module-init-tools, even though the file is present in /usr/portage/distfiles/
Can anyone help me? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|