Help! Installing Gentoo and cant get Network goin! [solvd]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
feld
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:33 pm    Post subject: Help! Installing Gentoo and cant get Network goin! [solvd] Reply with quote

I am fairly new to the linux community, after screwin around with tons of other self installing distros i decided to take it to the next level and get serious and install something worth installing. So I chose Gentoo...

Anyway, i have the whole manual printed off, and I've tried everything and I cant get it to set up my network, and I cant get it to work manually either. Maybe someone has some suggestions?

I have 2 onboard connections, eth0 and eth1. I'm only plugged into one, which I am sure is eth0. (i tried every setting also on eth1 just in case... still no results!)

My motherboard is an Epox 8RDA3+. http://www.epox.nl/english/products/motherboard/8rda3%2B.htm

Can anyone tell me what I need to do to get this to work so I can finish this install with my network running?

btw i think my iso is 2004.1.... i see a post about 2004.2... that must b latest? maybe i'll burn that and try again...

-Feld

Last edited by feld on Mon Aug 30, 2004 2:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
grepcomputers
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a bug in 2004.1. It loads the eth1394 module, which assigns eth0 to your firewire port (I see from the link you have firewire on your motherboard). Once you load the drivers for your network cards, they will get eth1 and eth2. Or you can do an rmmod eth1394. lsmod will show if the module is loaded.

This can carry over into the finished install if you use genkernel and hotplug. Simple fix is to either configure the kernel not to have the eth1394 module (it is under the firewire menu) or not use hotplug.