Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unknown.domain on stand-alone dialup workstation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rod-a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:23 pm    Post subject: unknown.domain on stand-alone dialup workstation Reply with quote

I have (sort of) installed Gentoo on my stand-alone Celeron 800 workstation using Knoppix to provide a dialup connection. I named it "workhorse" and the dnsdomainname "home". I set up /etc resolv.conf as just

127.0.0.1 localhost


I emerged wvdial and used it successfully to set up a connection (PlaNet) to my internet provider at www.hnpl.net, but when I boot up Gentoo it comes up as workhorse on unknown.domain.

How do I get it to use a valid domainname?

Also I ran mirrorselect but when I emerge it doesn't seem to be able to use the new mirrors, but gives error messages about Protocol not supported, and then uses the default gentoo site. How do I get it to return to the original or to planetmirror.com?

Thanks for help

Roderick Aldridge
_________________
Roderick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZothOmmog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 216
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A: You need to set a hostname for your system.
Code:
echo "hostname goes here" >> /etc/hostname


B: Set a domain name...
Code:
echo "fully qualified domain name here" >> /etc/dnsdomainname


C: Edit /etc/hosts
Code:
127.0.0.1 hostname.domainname hostname localhost


D: Add the dnsdomain service to boot & start it
Code:
rc-update add domainname boot
/etc/init.d/domainname start

_________________
-It's gonna take a lot of fireworks to clean this place up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rod-a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: unknown.domain on stand-alone dialup workstation Reply with quote

Thanks for your prompt reply. It worked fine. The last emerge also worked fine, (though it was only a very small one). so maybe it fixed the mirror problem too.

Thanks again.

Roderick Aldridge.
_________________
Roderick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum