Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
N00B question about adding another hard drive.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wubbabunz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:30 am    Post subject: N00B question about adding another hard drive. Reply with quote

I'm a total n00b at using linux altogether but so far, using gentoo and kde have been working great and i've totally enjoyed it.

But here's my situation:

I've done a full install of gentoo and kde. Everything is up and running. I have it set up so that you can choose to boot from either windows xp professional or gentoo. But what I want to do now is add another hard drive that I've had from an older computer which has windows xp home edition already installed. I've also got a lot of mp3 files that I'd like to keep and use on gentoo.

If anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exeter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you have to do on the software side is make sure NTFS support is compiled into your kernel or as a module. Since you probably have to power down the machine to install the new HD anyway, if you like compiling stuff into the kernel, just go ahead. If it's a USB or hot swap drive, and you don't want to power down, just compile it as a module, load it using modprobe, and you're done.

Then, just mount it and go. (e.g. mount -t ntfs /dev/hdb1 /mnt/winxp) Of course, you will want to create a directory (probably under /mnt) to use as a mount point, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wubbabunz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help. Does the same go with adding another cd-rw and more RAM?
_________________
"Is RAM drive an installation process?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallingcow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put the hard drive in the computer, and make sure that the BIOS is recognizing it. I'm assuming you can do this part; if not, please say so and I -- or someone else -- will probably try to walk you through it.

The drive is probably formatted as NTFS, which means that you will be able to read it in linux, but you won't be able to write new stuff to it. If you want to be able to add new stuff, this whole process will get a lot more complicated, so I'm going to assume for now that you don't.

As you may know, IDE hard drives in Linux are usually labelled as follows:

/dev/hda
/dev/hdb
/dev/hdc
/dev/hdd

Ok. So, one of these is your main hard drive that you have Linux and XP Pro on. You probably know which one that is, as you've gone through the install process. So, the new drive shouldn't be using that name. Also, one of the above labels should belong to your Optical drive (I assume you have one), so you can scratch that one off the list of potentials, provided you know what it is. That leaves 2 other possible locations.

Use fdisk... or, hell, just "emerge cfdisk" and use it instead, it's way better for doing what we're about to do... and check the two above-listed locations that weren't eliminated as possibilities in the above paragraph. One of them should have one or more partitions on them, probably labeled "HPFS/NTFS" or something like that (I'm doing this from memory, but it's close to that I know). That's the drive we want; remember the name of it, and remember how many partitions it has.

For each partition, make a directory like "/mnt/old_hd_1", and so on. Then, try issuing the command (substituting for "/dev/hdb" the name of your drive which we determined in the previous paragraph):

Code:
mount /dev/hdb1 /mnt/old_hd_1


Do that for each partition in the drive, positively incrementing the number each time, i.e. hdb2, old_hd_2, etc.

There may be only one partition on the drive. So, just do the above once if that's the case.

If the mount command gives you errors, you probably don't have NTFS support in your linux kernel. Try the following to fix that:
Code:
modprobe ntfs


and then try the mount commands again.

If it still doesn't work, try searching for a thread that will walk you through compiling your kernel to support certain filesystems; I'm sure there's a lot of them out there.

Please post regarding your success, or lack thereof, using the above methods.

edit: typo fix
_________________
Did you exchange a walk on part in the war for the lead role in a cage?

-Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exeter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wubbabunz wrote:
Thanks for the help. Does the same go with adding another cd-rw and more RAM?


You shouldn't have to do anything when adding more RAM, it will just automatically recognize it on bootup. For a new cdrw, it should be autodetected on bootup as well, and ought to show up under /dev/cdroms, probably /dev/cdroms/cdrom1 if your old cdrw is /dev/cdroms/cdrom0.

You can also mount these drives in /etc/fstab, of course, I forgot to mention that earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In terms of drive letters, the most likely configuration is that your old one is hda, and the new one you're putting in will be hdb. This isn't 100%, but it would be the 'normal' way of doing it.

I'm assuming you're not after booting from it, since you've got Pro already - if you want to write to that drive, the best way is probably to boot into your Pro install and do it from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wubbabunz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot guys for your help, it all worked out. I'm glad everyone's so helpful.
_________________
"Is RAM drive an installation process?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum