Total NooB needs help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FPR
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Total NooB needs help Reply with quote

Hi guys well i hate to admite it but ya im a noob here, Now im realy interested in getting into this Gentoo but errr......im total lost with everything i have read and to a point i think trying to read all about it has totaly fryed my small brain cell 8O ,

I realy would liketo know what to d/l to get started i think theis is the easy part :? but as for the rest meaning all i have read has killed me .And to be honest it scareing the hell outta me the more i see about it... So in a small but LOUD word HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLZ.

thx. :cry:
trgarner
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Total NooB needs help Reply with quote

I am a Newbie myself, I found that you REALLY need to print out the Handbook, and READ it a few times, there are a couple of confusing spots, but if your ready to start, then grab some free time, ensure your Net connection is up and running and hack away.

I'm in the "emerge system" (Page 40, Building the System) section and like the text says "...Then go do something to keep your mind busy, b/c this step takes a long time to complete.", now I'm unsure how LONG is a long time, but its still ticking and I'm watching Air Force moan about an unjust call... so that is where I'm at.

The point? Take your time, read, and go for it, if all else fails, you can always restart.

Again, have fun w/ Gentoo... I am!

FPR wrote:
Hi guys well i hate to admite it but ya im a noob here, Now im realy interested in getting into this Gentoo but errr......im total lost with everything i have read and to a point i think trying to read all about it has totaly fryed my small brain cell 8O ,