Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde/gnome very slow: xorg badly configured?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rafc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:42 pm    Post subject: kde/gnome very slow: xorg badly configured? Reply with quote

It takes a long time to log in into kde and gnome and in there everything starts up also really slow. In the kdm log file I read:

Code:
(WW) RADEON: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:3:0:1) found
(WW) RADEON(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xd0000000,0x8000000)
Symbol drmGetClient from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.o is unresolved!


The first line is I think something with my xorg.conf. I looked in it and find acutally 2 device sections:

Code:
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

# Standard VGA Device:

Section "Device"
    Identifier   "Standard VGA"
    VendorName   "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"

# The chipset line is optional in most cases.  It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.

#    Chipset   "generic"

# The Driver line must be present.  When using run-time loadable driver
# modules, this line instructs the server to load the specified driver
# module.  Even when not using loadable driver modules, this line
# indicates which driver should interpret the information in this section.

    Driver     "vga"
# The BusID line is used to specify which of possibly multiple devices
# this section is intended for.  When this line isn't present, a device
# section can only match up with the primary video device.  For PCI
# devices a line like the following could be used.  This line should not
# normally be included unless there is more than one video device
# intalled.

#    BusID      "PCI:0:10:0"

#    VideoRam   256

#    Clocks   25.2 28.3

EndSection

# Device configured by xorgconfig:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "atiradeon9700"
    Driver      "radeon"
    #VideoRam    131072
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


The last line (Symbol drmGetClient from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.o is unresolved!) I have absolutely no clue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inode77
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 1303
Location: Heart of Europe

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There could be a misconfiguration in mtrr.
Please post your "cat /proc/mtrr" output.
It should look similar to the one posted below excpt there should be a line that coresponds with the baseregister address of your graph board and the correct ram size.
Code:
cat /proc/mtrr
reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
reg01: base=0x1ff80000 ( 511MB), size= 512KB: uncachable, count=1
reg02: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size=  64MB: write-combining, count=2
reg03: base=0xd0000000 (3328MB), size= 256MB: write-combining, count=1

Mine is a ATI M9 with 64MB RAM => line reg02

If yours is wrong this will affect your graphics power. You can correct it with a little entry in "/etc/conf.d/local.start". It should look similar to mine except with parameters coresponding to your system in it.
Code:
# This is a good place to load any misc.
# programs on startup ( 1>&2 )
# Correction for false allocation of memory range for video card
echo "disable=2" >| /proc/mtrr
echo "base=0xe0000000 size=0x4000000 type=write-combining" >| /proc/mtrr

There are lots of threads and howto out covering this issue if you like more information just google for it with the correct keywords.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rafc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer. There is actually nothing in /proc except for a .keep file (that is empty).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inode77
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 1303
Location: Heart of Europe

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Thanks for your answer. There is actually nothing in /proc except for a .keep file (that is empty).

That would be quite serious "/proc" is quite often used it's one of the interfaces to the kernel where you can get information or set parameters.

Enter just "mount" in your shell and it should output something similar to mine.
Code:
/dev/hda7 on / type reiserfs (rw,noatime)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)

The second line shows that proc is mounted.

If you compiled your kernel manually make sure that you have support for "/proc" and "mtrr" compiled in.
2.6 Kernel:
Proc support => File systems => Pseudo file systems => /proc file system support => y
MTTR support => Processor type and features => MTRR (Memory Type Range Register) support => y
2.4 Kernel:
no real idea anymore but surely under the same subcategories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rafc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a mistake. I looked in the directory from suse but it seems that from within gentoo the info is available.

I have

reg00: base=0x00000000 ( 0MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
reg01: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 64MB: write-combining, count=1
reg02: base=0xd0000000 (3328MB), size= 4MB: write-combining, count=1

Since I have a radeon 9700 with 128mb it doesn't seem to be part of this list.

I've also reinstalled xorg and when finished I get a different error that might be the cause of the other problems:

Code:
(WW) RADEON: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:3:0:1) found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rafc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the x.org page i found an faq enty:

Code:
Your Xserver reports the warning like:

(WW) RADEON: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:0) found

This means that the driver is able to drive the PCI device (chip) mentioned (here the one with the ID: 1:0:0) but the Xserver cannot find a valid device section for it in the Xserver config file. Without a device section this chip cannot be used. If the config file doesn't contain any other valid device section the server will terminate with the error message: (EE) No devices detected.


In my xorg.conf.new I found

Code:
Section "Device"
Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "ati"
   VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
   BoardName   "Radeon R300 ND [Radeon 9700 Pro]"
   BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection


Can I just change this eg to PCI:3:0:1" (the one from my error)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
black hole sun
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the following:

emerge ati-drivers ati-drivers-extra
fglrxconfig
opengl-update ati


Then rename XF86Config-4, which is what fglrxconfig outputs, to xorg.conf

Finally, restart X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inode77
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 1303
Location: Heart of Europe

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Do the following:

emerge ati-drivers ati-drivers-extra
fglrxconfig
opengl-update ati

Then rename XF86Config-4, which is what fglrxconfig outputs, to xorg.conf

Finally, restart X.


That's a good idea, but check afterwards your xorg.log with the following command that should show only warnings and errors.
Code:
grep -e ^\([WE][WE]\)  /var/log/Xorg.0.log

And check "/proc/mtrr" once more because on my machine the memory type range register contains wrong values for my ati card. (They lead e.g. to messages that I don't have enough video ram in mplayer)

To get the correct register you can enter "lspci -v" (from the pciutils package => emerge pciutils if you don't have the command) as root. The output for your graph board will be similar to mine.
Code:
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9] (rev 02) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: IBM: Unknown device 054d
        Flags: bus master, stepping, fast Back2Back, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 255, IRQ 11
        Memory at e0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
        I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
        Memory at c0100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [58] AGP version 2.0
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2

The line that's intresting is "Memory at e000000 ......" that's the address that should corespond with one entry of your "/proc/mtrr".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum