Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Where to put new Kernel?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:09 am    Post subject: Where to put new Kernel? Reply with quote

Hi,

I made a new Kernel with make menuconfig, to get my USB Mouse to work (USB HID was not activated).

Where do I have to put the file to replace the old kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

u just need to copy your new kernel to your /boot(rem to mount it first)
If u using custom kernel, u hav to copy the bzImage & the System.map file over to /boot.

Then u need to edit lilo/grub to add the entries inside. Then when u reboot, choose to load the new kernel to test it out.
_________________
Athlon64 3000+ on a MSI Neo2 Platinum (nVidia nForce3)
1 Sata Hitachi (HGST) 7K250
1 Sata Samsung SpinPoint
2 x 512MB TwinMos DDR400 Dual Channel
Geforce 5200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the sequence is

Code:

make menuconfig
make
make modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

You might also want to copy the kernel to a new name (kernel-version-number is good) and modify your grub/lilo config to pick it up.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did what you said, and now there's like unlimited /boot folders...
in boot there's another boot then another.. and they're all the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amiatrome
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Campus | Arena Country Club | Home

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea how you ended up with recursive /boot folders but you can get rid of them to free up space.

Code:
rm -rfv /boot/boot/


Then you can copy over your bzImage and System.map over to /boot again.

Code:
# cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-<version>-gentoo-r6
# cp System.map /boot/System.map-<version>-gentoo-r6

_________________
blog | homepage | alias | prompts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There should be a symlink in /boot called "boot" that points back to /boot

This is so grub and lilo entries that include "/boot" in their pathnames will still work.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so I just left the /boot/boot/boot thing..
I copied the system.map and the images to /boot, but there wasn't any promting if I wanted to overwrite the old kernel.. so how do I know if it worked?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do not overwrite your old kernel.
Create a new one cos if the new one that u created can't be use, u can always fall bak to the old one.
_________________
Athlon64 3000+ on a MSI Neo2 Platinum (nVidia nForce3)
1 Sata Hitachi (HGST) 7K250
1 Sata Samsung SpinPoint
2 x 512MB TwinMos DDR400 Dual Channel
Geforce 5200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea but it didn't even ASK to overwrite the new one , so was it the wrong folder? there was no old kernel in /boot.. and i did mount /boot before!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is funny. Try to do a find to c where your old kernel is.
_________________
Athlon64 3000+ on a MSI Neo2 Platinum (nVidia nForce3)
1 Sata Hitachi (HGST) 7K250
1 Sata Samsung SpinPoint
2 x 512MB TwinMos DDR400 Dual Channel
Geforce 5200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now did a "mount /dev/hda1 /boot", now it works. The name of the mouse is mentioned during bootup, but I still can't use it. When I set another Section Device in the xorg.conf, neither the Touchpad nor the USB mouse work :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wat was the name that u put for your mouse inside xorg.conf>
_________________
Athlon64 3000+ on a MSI Neo2 Platinum (nVidia nForce3)
1 Sata Hitachi (HGST) 7K250
1 Sata Samsung SpinPoint
2 x 512MB TwinMos DDR400 Dual Channel
Geforce 5200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "Auto"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"



#    Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.

#    Option "Resolution"   "256"

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

#    Option "Protocol"   "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

#    Option "BaudRate"   "9600"
#    Option "SampleRate"   "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

#    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

#    Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "USBMouse"
    Driver          "mouse"
    Option          "Protocol"  "IMPS/2"
    Option          "Device"    "/dev/usb/hid"
    Option          "ZAxisMapping"  "4 5"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe u wan to try something like mine.

Code:
Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option      "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option      "Device"      "/dev/psaux"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping"  "4 5"
    Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "on"

_________________
Athlon64 3000+ on a MSI Neo2 Platinum (nVidia nForce3)
1 Sata Hitachi (HGST) 7K250
1 Sata Samsung SpinPoint
2 x 512MB TwinMos DDR400 Dual Channel
Geforce 5200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amiatrome
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Campus | Arena Country Club | Home

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boroshan wrote:
There should be a symlink in /boot called "boot" that points back to /boot

This is so grub and lilo entries that include "/boot" in their pathnames will still work.


What was I thinking? :oops: I was working to death on a SQL World Cup 2006 assignment on my school's WinXP box and didn't check properly. Sorry. :wink:
_________________
blog | homepage | alias | prompts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum