Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HELP! Too many choices-- I need some recommendations.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pratttech
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 9:17 pm    Post subject: HELP! Too many choices-- I need some recommendations. Reply with quote

I really like Gentoo's utter configurability, but I have to admit it is a bit overwhelming.:? I was hoping for some input from more experienced Gentoo users on kernel, system applications, and installation decisions. I finished a stage3 and now that I'm more familiar with the Gentoo install I think I'm going to try building a fully optimized stage1. However, I'm not a developer by any means and I have to admit to guessing when I set many of my options the first time around. This time through I'd like to know why I should or shouldn't do.

:?: STAGE1: I haven't been there yet, but it sounds like I can even optimize gcc to my machine. How does this work?

:?: KERNEL: 2.4 or 2.6?? Why one or the other? I chose 2.4 with my stage3 thinking older is more stable; but in perusing the forums 2.6 seems far more prevalent. Why?

:?: CRON: I have no idea how vixie, fcron, or dcron(?) differ. I've setup plenty of cron jobs, but I never really paid attention to what code was running. I briefly read about each and chose fcron the first time around because it seemed to indicate support for systems which aren't always up through timers rather than actual times. My PC is a laptop and fits this profile. What is recommended? What do most people use?

:?: DEV: udev or devfs. I don't know about this either. I chose devfs in my initial install, but again the forums seem like udev is far more common. What is recommended? What do most people use? Pro/Cons of each?