Why do my school's servers hate my box?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
celloandy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Why do my school's servers hate my box? Reply with quote

I'm a student at George Washington, and have been having problems accessing the School of Engineering's servers, and was wondering if anyone here might have any insight... whenever I try to ssh there terminal box, or access the student webserver (by http, in a browser), the program (ssh or firefox) just hangs. I can't get either of these servers to answer. I don't think my copies of firefox or ssh are broken, because I can ssh to other boxes, and browse to other sites. Also, my box is a dual-boot, and these things work under windows. They also work if I try them from a Gnoppix cd. The only difference I can see between these environments and my main Gentoo one is that the Gentoo install is amd64, but my friend has an amd64 box running suse, and it works fine. Why do you thing the school servers hate me?

Andrew

(btw, the ssh server is hobbes.seas,gwu,edu, and the webserver is student.seas.gwu.edu... they're both Solaris boxes)
r00tzz
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works fine here, i tried access from Brazil.

Did you tried to access the sites from another network (another ISP)?
or try cheking your hosts file to see if there is some invalid entries...

just a guess...

EDIT: Sorry for the wrong guess... :(

Last edited by r00tzz on Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:57 am; edited 1 time in total
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

potentially a TCP/IP window resizing issue, are you using kernel 2.6.7 or later? The server or a router in front of those services you say may be broken.