Messed up somehow. MBR problem.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
neilcon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 2:20 am    Post subject: Messed up somehow. MBR problem. Reply with quote

Ok well i installed everything fine. Followed every detail in the hand book and after i installed grub and rebooted i still got an old lilo boot screen from a previous version of slack i installed a while ago.

I have two HD's hda (windows) and hdb (linux). So i installed grub on hdb and wrote the mbr there also. I think my problem is that i have hda(lilo) booting instead of hdb (grub). Is this possible? can lilo be on hda even though it's an NTFS partition? I don't understand how lilo can still be there even after i formatted and installed gentoo on hdb. Lilo must reside on hda.

Im not an expert with all this so any help would be awesome.

Is there a way i can change the mbr to hdb instead of hda?
inode77
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have two HD's hda (windows) and hdb (linux). So i installed grub on hdb and wrote the mbr there also. I think my problem is that i have hda(lilo) booting instead of hdb (grub). Is this possible? can lilo be on hda even though it's an NTFS partition? I don't understand how lilo can still be there even after i formatted and installed gentoo on hdb. Lilo must reside on hda.

The MBR is just the 512 first byte of your harddisk, so no problem for lilo to survive a format of your partition.

The bios will always boot with the mbr on the first hdd. So either you swap the drives and use grub (linux hdd, to use the mbr on the second hdd swap them physically) or you install grub into the mbr of the first. To do so boot your livecd, mount the partitions, chroot and install grub into first mbr with setup (hd0)
mbjr
Guru
Guru