kde's the devil!!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
prodigy60
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:30 am    Post subject: kde's the devil!!!! Reply with quote

ok... well, i'm a noob, obviously, but i have a rather irritating problem i cant quite figure out... situatuion goes pretty much like this... say i've just booted into gentoo, and run mpg123 from a command line... sound works perfectly, aside from other issues with my 5.1's and my soundblaster card (i get sound on 4 channels and the sub, but not on the center... i've accepted this) but as soon as i startx and try running xmms in kde, my sound is pretty much gone. all i get is static that comes and goes as it pleases, and occasional kde noises, such as when a window is maximized, minimized and so on (i'm CONVINCED KDE'S LAUGHING AT ME!!!) anyway, i like kde, and i'd like to continue using it, but im not sure how to get and KEEP my sound working using it. like i said, everything is fine at the command line, but as soon as i try to run kde and xmms together, the issues begin, and i'm not sure where to start, and unfortunately i've met with no success diggin throught the forums, and as a noob, i have no idea where to start... ANY help would be greatly apprecciated, and if you need any info from me, i know this is kinda vague, please ask, i'll do what i can to get it to you :) thanks again!
enigma_0Z
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check to see if the equalizer in XMMS is on or not, if it is on, turn it off. I've experienced alot of problems with XMMS's equalizer. You might also want to fire up konsole and see if mpg123 is still screwy in KDE (to see if it's a KDE thing or an XMMS thing)
Acoc
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote