Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to modprobe after Gentoo installation? That's INSANE!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Blizzard Wolf
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 4:30 pm    Post subject: Unable to modprobe after Gentoo installation? That's INSANE! Reply with quote

Hello, I'm not very new to Linux to say the least, but I am pretty new to Gentoo.

After installing about three times(I seemed to screw up a couple of times), I finally managed to get into Gentoo, but I have some huge problems.

I am unable to even modprobe usbcore or my 8139too module for some reason. When I modprobe via root(I can't seem to su my way into root from a user's account but that's another story), no matter what module I try, it doesn't register.

I've searched these forums before hand(I did a quick search actually), and no one seems to have a problem modprobing, so I must've screwed something up either by the kernel or on my way to installation.

Another problem is the fact that Gentoo freezes when I try to load the nvidia module, it should be nvidia in the autoload.conf, right?

If this helps, I'm installing Gentoo on a laptop with a 2.4.26-r9 kernel, on an AMD64(compiled as Pentium 4, I don't remember, I know it's i686), with 512 RAM and one 60GB hard drive, partitioned with Windows(It works), and the rest having Gentoo and 1GB swap with a share space(FAT32 Partition that can be accessed by Windows and Gentoo).

Edit: For the record, I fixed a couple of things, but I can't seem to load my NVIDIA kernel with a Geforce Go 440, maybe I should try the NVIDIA Installer.
radonsg
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Unable to modprobe after Gentoo installation? That's INS Reply with quote

Blizzard Wolf wrote: