View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Evolution Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: NJ
|
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:31 pm Post subject: Anyway to tell Portage that I have Apple's X11 installed? |
|
|
I'm trying to install a package that requires X11, the only problem is I don't know how to tell portage that I have it installed. Any ideas? _________________ ///M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beergutxl n00b
Joined: 05 Sep 2004 Posts: 10 Location: Manchester, England
|
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
According to the emerge man pages this is exactly what the inject option is for Quote: | Injecting a package inserts a 'stub' for that package so that Portage thinks that it is installed. | so Quote: | emerge inject [package its trying to install] | will prevent it from emergeing X11.
But as I'm not a mac user no idea if the OS X portage supports it. Hope I've been of some help.
Beergut
Last edited by beergutxl on Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:11 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Evolution Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: NJ
|
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
hmm I tried that but I kept gettin an error. I made a directory called "apple-xfree" in /usr/portage/x11-base . I then made a fake ebuild file called x11-1.0.ebuild and just put "installed" in the body of the text of the file. When I tried Code: | emerge inject x11-base/apple-xfree | I get an error that a specific cat-pkg must be used. I tried it also with x11-base/apple-xfree/x11-1.0 and apple-xfree/x11-1.0 . It DID work when I tried Code: | emerge inject apple-xfree/x11-1.0. | but I don't know why that one worked and the other didn't _________________ ///M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beergutxl n00b
Joined: 05 Sep 2004 Posts: 10 Location: Manchester, England
|
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 1:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Don't know why the first didn't work but maybe is the filenames anyway...
maybe i didn't make myself clear type Quote: | emerge -p [the program you want to install] | then enter Quote: | emerge inject [the xserver the previous command is trying to install] | This should fool portage into thinking its already installed it.
Beergut |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
With the new version of portage (that MacOSX uses) the inject keyword is depreciated. If you have recently emerge sync'd you should already have xfree provided in your profile. You may need to upgrade your portage version as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Evolution Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: NJ
|
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
beergutxl, I know what you meant, the command simply didn't work. I'm emerge syncing right now, hopefully that will clear this up. Ill let you know how it goes. _________________ ///M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
phaidros n00b
Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 26 Location: germany
|
Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In gentoo osx' portage "emerge --inject" is depreceated.
instead is there a file /etc/portage/profile/package.provided
there u can put in already install software.
e.g.
Code: | echo "x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r7" >> /etc/portage/packages.provided
|
my one (I've xcode 1.5 installed):
Code: | cat /etc/portage/profile/packages.provided
app-shells/bash-2.05b-r2
dev-libs/libxml2-2.6.7
sys-devel/libperl-5.8.1
dev-lang/perl-5.8.1
sys-devel/autoconf-2.59
sys-devel/m4-1.4
sys-apps/coreutils-0.0.0
sys-devel/automake-1.6.3
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaVe&OpenMOsix Apprentice
Joined: 30 Dec 2003 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 9:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i do not have package.provided in /etc/portage.
i do not have /etc/portage!
i made
Code: |
mkdir /etc/portage
touch /etc/portage/packages.provided
echo "x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r7" >> /etc/portage/packages.provided
-bash: /etc/portage/packages.provided: Permission denied
|
but i can't write on this file!
i tried also with nano/pico.
do you have some ideas about?
thanks, sorry for my english...
DaVe! _________________ -- Siccome sono un informatico ho votato PCI convinto di aumentare gli slot di espansione della società --
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^-
DaVe the WaVe
http://dave.ccni.it
http://www.davethewave.it
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaVe&OpenMOsix Apprentice
Joined: 30 Dec 2003 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok, sorry, i cannot write due to permissions on file.
i edited the file inserting
Code: | x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r7 |
but
Code: | emerge -pv aterm
Calculating dependencies \
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "x11-base/apple-xfree".
|
i have to insert also x11-base/apple-xfree?
i tried this, but it no works!
bye...
DaVe _________________ -- Siccome sono un informatico ho votato PCI convinto di aumentare gli slot di espansione della società --
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^-
DaVe the WaVe
http://dave.ccni.it
http://www.davethewave.it
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
danie n00b
Joined: 11 Oct 2004 Posts: 5 Location: los angeles
|
Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 4:20 am Post subject: bootstrap-macos.sh |
|
|
Did you run: /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap-macos.sh ? This script will inject an X package so that you can use apple's X11 user and developer packages. In order for X-dependent packages to compile you need the developer X11 package, which is an extra package in the Xcode package. If you want to run X-dependent applications then you probably need to install the X11 user package (http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/x11/download/), or use Fink.
If bootstrap-macos.sh does not work then you will want to: emerge --inject x11-base/apple-xfree-4.3
The versions of emerge that I have used on OS X have pretty much ignored the package.provided files, which is probably why bootstrap-macos.sh injects all of the files in /etc/make.profile/package.provided. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaVe&OpenMOsix Apprentice
Joined: 30 Dec 2003 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks Danie!
i have already bootstrapped the system and i have already installed X11 (i use with fink a lot of software).
Code: | emerge --inject x11-base/apple-xfree-4.3
|
ok this command have injected the package, but aterm compile fails.
when i try to update portage, the python-fchksum fails.
Code: | gcc -Wl,-F. -Wl,-F. -bundle -framework Python -fast -mcpu=7450 -pipe build/temp.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/fchksum.o build/temp.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/md5.o build/temp.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/cksum.o build/temp.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/sum.o -lz -o build/lib.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/fchksum.so
ld: build/temp.darwin-7.5.0-Power_Macintosh-2.3/fchksum.o has local relocation entries in non-writable section (__TEXT,__text)
error: command 'gcc' failed with exit status 1
!!! ERROR: dev-python/python-fchksum-1.7.1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 20, Exitcode 1
|
any ideas?
bye DaVe _________________ -- Siccome sono un informatico ho votato PCI convinto di aumentare gli slot di espansione della società --
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^-
DaVe the WaVe
http://dave.ccni.it
http://www.davethewave.it
-^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^v^- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
merlin n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 44 Location: Oregon, USA
|
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
DaVe&OpenMOsix wrote: | [...]
when i try to update portage, the python-fchksum fails.
|
I've been getting the same python-fchksum error as you for some time now. (I've been waiting, hoping it would go away with an update.) I noticed today that it also comes up with jpeg-6b-r3.
Should these "relocation" errors be reported as bugs, or is there something we users need to do about them?
Thanks,
Ben |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|