View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
statmobile Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 286 Location: Chapel Hill, NC
|
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:27 am Post subject: openafs on 2.6.* kernel |
|
|
Can anyone help me to figure out what the status of openafs is? I'm not sure if people are working on this, and I really would like to know if it looks like we'll be getting openafs 1.3.* in portage. It seems that this version does actually work with the 2.6 kernel. I love the 2.6 kernel, but I really do need openafs on my computer. I would hate to have to go back to the 2.4 kernel. _________________ Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
statmobile Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 286 Location: Chapel Hill, NC
|
Posted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 3:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nobody has to run the afs client on the 2.6 kerenel? I was just on a Debian machine running 2.6.7, and low and behold it had afs running on it. If I get my hands on their installation package, can I use this somehow? _________________ Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dma Guru
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 437 Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
|
Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
It can be made to work:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=51542
But I can't do it with the standard initscripts.
Quote: | I was able to get the client running with two commands (keep in mind I already had it configured from when I was using openafs 1.2.x and linux 2.4.x).
# insmod /usr/vice/etc/modload/libafs-2.6.8-gentoo-r3.ko
# afsd
That seems to load it.
# umount /afs
# rmmod libafs
That seems to unload it. |
http://www.coe.uncc.edu/~danderse/www/openafs-1.3.71.ebuild |
|
Back to top |
|
|
statmobile Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 286 Location: Chapel Hill, NC
|
Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 11:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried to compile it from source, but after compiling it I have no idea where to go. I followed the afs instructions, and did the make install. Now I have no idea how to configure the client or even start it for that matter. Do you have any tips? _________________ Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ShadowFlyP n00b
Joined: 12 Oct 2004 Posts: 7 Location: Rochester, MN
|
Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm running OpenAFS on 2.6... here's what I did to make it work...
Download OpenAFS 1.3.71 (source) and extract.
Code: | ./configure --enable-transarc-paths --with-afs-sysname=i386_linux26
make
make dest
make install
|
You then need to put your CellServDB into /usr/vice/etc and follow the steps listed above to load afs. I actually wrote my own init script for the 2.6 afs client...probably not very good since it was my first init script, so use at your own risk.
Code: |
#! /sbin/runscript
if [ -f /etc/afs/afs.conf ]; then
. /etc/afs/afs.conf
fi
depend() {
need net
}
load_module() {
LIBAFS="/usr/vice/etc/modload/libafs-`uname -r`.mp.ko"
if [ ! -f $LIBAFS ] ; then
echo AFS module $LIBAFS does not exist. Not starting AFS.
return 1
fi
/sbin/insmod $LIBAFS
return 0;
}
start(){
ebegin "Starting AFS..."
if load_module ; then :
else
eend "Error loading AFS module"
fi
/usr/local/sbin/afsd -daemons 6
STATUS=$?
eend $STATUS "Error starting afsd"
}
stop() {
ebegin "Stopping AFS..."
umount /afs
STATUS=$?
/sbin/rmmod libafs
eend $STATUS "Error ending afs"
}
|
Good luck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|