Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openafs on 2.6.* kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
statmobile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 286
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: openafs on 2.6.* kernel Reply with quote

Can anyone help me to figure out what the status of openafs is? I'm not sure if people are working on this, and I really would like to know if it looks like we'll be getting openafs 1.3.* in portage. It seems that this version does actually work with the 2.6 kernel. I love the 2.6 kernel, but I really do need openafs on my computer. I would hate to have to go back to the 2.4 kernel.
_________________
Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statmobile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 286
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody has to run the afs client on the 2.6 kerenel? I was just on a Debian machine running 2.6.7, and low and behold it had afs running on it. If I get my hands on their installation package, can I use this somehow?
_________________
Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dma
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 437
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can be made to work:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=51542

But I can't do it with the standard initscripts.

Quote:
I was able to get the client running with two commands (keep in mind I already had it configured from when I was using openafs 1.2.x and linux 2.4.x).

# insmod /usr/vice/etc/modload/libafs-2.6.8-gentoo-r3.ko
# afsd

That seems to load it.

# umount /afs
# rmmod libafs

That seems to unload it.


http://www.coe.uncc.edu/~danderse/www/openafs-1.3.71.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statmobile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 286
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to compile it from source, but after compiling it I have no idea where to go. I followed the afs instructions, and did the make install. Now I have no idea how to configure the client or even start it for that matter. Do you have any tips?
_________________
Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowFlyP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Rochester, MN

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running OpenAFS on 2.6... here's what I did to make it work...

Download OpenAFS 1.3.71 (source) and extract.

Code:
./configure --enable-transarc-paths --with-afs-sysname=i386_linux26
make
make dest
make install


You then need to put your CellServDB into /usr/vice/etc and follow the steps listed above to load afs. I actually wrote my own init script for the 2.6 afs client...probably not very good since it was my first init script, so use at your own risk. ;)

Code:

#! /sbin/runscript

if [ -f /etc/afs/afs.conf ]; then
   . /etc/afs/afs.conf
fi

depend() {
   need net
}

load_module() {
   LIBAFS="/usr/vice/etc/modload/libafs-`uname -r`.mp.ko"

   if [ ! -f $LIBAFS ] ; then
      echo AFS module $LIBAFS does not exist.  Not starting AFS.
      return 1
   fi

   /sbin/insmod $LIBAFS
   return 0;
}

start(){
   ebegin "Starting AFS..."
   
   if load_module ; then :
   else
      eend "Error loading AFS module"
   fi

   /usr/local/sbin/afsd -daemons 6
   STATUS=$?
   eend $STATUS "Error starting afsd"
}

stop() {
   ebegin "Stopping AFS..."
   
   umount /afs
   STATUS=$?
   /sbin/rmmod libafs

   eend $STATUS "Error ending afs"
}


Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum