Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
/var/lib/init.d/depcache Command not found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TurkisH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Location: @ /home

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:10 pm    Post subject: /var/lib/init.d/depcache Command not found Reply with quote

When I emerge new things, and also on reboot i get this message after the emerge:
Code:

/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 7: Set: command not found

I've read on the forum that several other people got a likewise problem but on other lines, but I couldn't find a good answer how to solve it

Don't know if it matters but this is line 7, 8 and 9 of /var/lib/init.d/depcache
Code:

use() {
        echo "USE $*"; return 0
}

Hope someone can help me here. Everything still works and emerging also works, but just wanna get rid of this message ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have an error in /etc/rc.conf - either garbage, or mismatched quotes, or something. Please check, correct, then run
Code:
depscah.sh
to recreate the cache.
If that doesn't help, re-emerge the baselayout package via
Code:
emerge --oneshot baselayout
- but beware, you'll have to etc-update a lot of files afterwards, take care not to lose your configuration.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TurkisH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Location: @ /home

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well this is my rc.conf, without the #text
Code:

KEYMAP="us"

SET_WINDOWKEYS="no"

EXTENDED_KEYMAPS=

CONSOLEFONT="default8x16"

CLOCK="UTC"

EDITOR="/bin/nano"

PROTOCOLS="1 2"

DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"

XSESSION="Gnome"

Is anything wrong with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
looze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having this same problem, any issues? I re-emerged baselauout an hundred times

emerge info :

Portage 2.0.50-r11 (default-x86-2004.2, gcc-3.3.4, glibc-2.3.3.20040420-r1, 2.6.8-gentoo-r3)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.8-gentoo-r3 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1300MHz
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.5-r1
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O3 -Os -mcpu=pentium4 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe -msse -msse2"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER=""
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O3 -Os -mcpu=pentium4 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe -msse -msse2"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs ccache sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.datapipe.net/gentoo ftp://ftp.ussg.iu.edu/pub/linux/gentoo http://mirror.clarkson.edu/pub/distributions/gentoo/ http://gentoo.netnitco.net"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acpi acpi4linux alsa avi bitmap-fonts cdr cdrom crypt dillo dvd dvdread editor encode esd flash flood gdbm gif gimp gimpprint gkrellm gnome gtk gtk2 i8x0 imlib java jpeg lcd libwww mad mime mmx mmx2 mozilla moznoirc moznomail mozsvg mp3 mpeg mpeg4 mplayer msn ncurses nls nptl offensive oggvorbis openal opengl oracle oracle7 orathreads pam parse-clocks pdf pdflib perl php png pnp python qt quicktime quotes radeon readline rogue samba sdl silverxp slang spamassassin spell sse sse2 ssl svg svga tcltk tcpd tiff truetype usb videos vim wifi x86 xatrix xchatdccserver xine xml xml2 xmms xosd xpm xprint xscreensaver xv zlib"

using sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.4-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TurkisH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Location: @ /home

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone please help me, getting away this depcache error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:33 pm    Post subject: Re: /var/lib/init.d/depcache Command not found Reply with quote

TurkisH wrote:
When I emerge new things, and also on reboot i get this message after the emerge:
Code:

/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 7: Set: command not found


Same problem here. Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TurkisH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Location: @ /home

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does someone have a clue to help us, without emerging the baselayout? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got you all beat for errors. I started getting the following mess during boot, shutdown and emerge after I did a world update a couple of nights ago. I've tried re-emergeing baselayout, running depscan.sh, deleted and recreated both rc.conf and depcache and none of it has made a differance. These errors don't seem to be causing any problems on my system (that I've noticed so far) but I would like a clean and error system. It helps when I brag to my Windows friends. :)

Code:

/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 9: service: command not found
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 11: flags: command not found
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 12: socket_type: command not found
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 13: wait: `=': not a pid or valid job spec
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 13: wait: `no': not a pid or valid job spec
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 14: user: command not found
Usage: server -n rsa_nickname -p port [-3RFrf] [-w password]
                                        [-c ciphers] [-d dbdir]
-3 means disable SSL v3
-r means request certificate on first handshake.
-f means require certificate on first handshake.
-R means request certificate on all handshakes.
-F means require certificate on all handshakes.
-c ciphers   Letter(s) chosen from the following list
A         SSL2 RC4 128 WITH MD5
B         SSL2 RC4 128 EXPORT40 WITH MD5
C         SSL2 RC2 128 CBC WITH MD5
D         SSL2 RC2 128 CBC EXPORT40 WITH MD5
E         SSL2 DES 64 CBC WITH MD5
F         SSL2 DES 192 EDE3 CBC WITH MD5

a         SSL3 FORTEZZA DMS WITH FORTEZZA CBC SHA
b         SSL3 FORTEZZA DMS WITH RC4 128 SHA
c         SSL3 RSA WITH RC4 128 MD5
d         SSL3 RSA WITH 3DES EDE CBC SHA
e         SSL3 RSA WITH DES CBC SHA
f         SSL3 RSA EXPORT WITH RC4 40 MD5
g         SSL3 RSA EXPORT WITH RC2 CBC 40 MD5
h         SSL3 FORTEZZA DMS WITH NULL SHA
i         SSL3 RSA WITH NULL MD5
j         SSL3 RSA FIPS WITH 3DES EDE CBC SHA
k         SSL3 RSA FIPS WITH DES CBC SHA
l         SSL3 RSA EXPORT WITH DES CBC SHA      (new)
m         SSL3 RSA EXPORT WITH RC4 56 SHA       (new)
/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 16: log_on_failure: command not found
disable: Operation failed: client-error-not-found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried a
Code:
grep -r socket_type /etc
? It might help identify the offending file. Either it's got some syntax errors in it. or the preceding file that's included in the dependency cache has an unterminated quote, in which case it's worth grepping -r through /var/lib/init.d for some snippets of text that come from the file you identified with the socket_type grep and looking at the occurrences in a text editor. That way you may be able to pinpoint the malformed file.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buZz.nl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:04 am    Post subject: Re: /var/lib/init.d/depcache Command not found Reply with quote

TurkisH wrote:
When I emerge new things, and also on reboot i get this message after the emerge:
Code:

/var/lib/init.d/depcache: line 7: Set: command not found


so
i just fixed this together with turkish , it appeared that /etc/conf.d/dhcp had a typo on some line

he found it by doing

Code:
grep -r ^Set /etc

_________________
why me ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TurkisH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Location: @ /home

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep thx again BuzZ for the helping

It was solved by indeed
Code:

grep -r ^Set /etc

Then it found: /etc/conf.d/dhcp, This file contained the following line:
Code:

Set IFACE="eth1"

This was taken from the home router tutorial on this site. However by deleting Set and making it:
Code:

IFACE="eth1"

Solved my problem!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmuench
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran this code

Code:
grep -r ^Set /etc


and it still doesn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmuench
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello is this a dead topic I'm still getting the error after doing this
Code:
grep -r ^Set /etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leo.fontenelle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 129
Location: Ribeirão Preto, Brasil

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:33 pm    Post subject: Silly us... Reply with quote

Got the same issue, answered by moocha here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kallamej
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 4975
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also an FAQ for this: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-53821.html

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads.
_________________
Please read our FAQ Forum, it answers many of your questions.
irc: #gentoo-forums on irc.libera.chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum