Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Openbox Resource Thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:
Hmm trying to setup Pwnz3r's ob3 theme script. It lists the themes fine but it doesn't seem to set them when i click on them.

Have you tried clicking reconfigure after doing it? Also, I might need to hack the file a bit. *hacks*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
Zepp wrote:
Hmm trying to setup Pwnz3r's ob3 theme script. It lists the themes fine but it doesn't seem to set them when i click on them.

Have you tried clicking reconfigure after doing it? Also, I might need to hack the file a bit. *hacks*


Yup I have tried that, it seems to just not be editing my rc.xml. Oh I changed the /home/pwnz3r whatever to my home dir too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a bit of hacking and fixed some things(it looked to run tmenu.py instead of tmenu-1.4.py and had /home/pwnz3r which I changed to reading $HOME and adding .config/openbox/scripts). Try it again and see if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm still doesn't seem to change my rc.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hit alt+ctrl+F1 and see if you are getting any error messages about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
Hit alt+ctrl+F1 and see if you are getting any error messages about it.


hmmm heh ya never thought to check

says no such file or dir. i know my rc.xml is in ~/.config/openbox/ though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you give a more specific error message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure:
Quote:
IO Error: [Errorno 2] No such file or directory: "os.getenv('HOME') + /.config/openbox/rc.xml"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is what happens when you are up coding late.... Download it again and it should work. That happened because I enclosed a function call in parenthesis making it a normal string. :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cerement
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 404

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another version of the "Button Layout" section of Pwnz3r's configuration script ...

Insert this code chunk into the appropriate place of your menu.xml
Code:
  <menu id="button-layout" label="Buttons">
    <item label="Mac Layout">
      <action name="Execute"><execute>
        sed -i -e 's:&lt;titlelayout&gt;.*&lt;/titlelayout&gt;:&lt;titlelayout&gt;CIMLN&lt;/titlelayout&gt;:' ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml
      </execute></action>
      <action name="Reconfigure" />
    </item>
    <item label="Win Layout">
      <action name="Execute"><execute>
        sed -i -e 's:&lt;titlelayout&gt;.*&lt;/titlelayout&gt;:&lt;titlelayout&gt;NLIMC&lt;/titlelayout&gt;:' ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml
      </execute></action>
      <action name="Reconfigure" />
    </item>
  </menu>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
That is what happens when you are up coding late.... Download it again and it should work. That happened because I enclosed a function call in parenthesis making it a normal string. :\


ah heh thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
That is what happens when you are up coding late.... Download it again and it should work. That happened because I enclosed a function call in parenthesis making it a normal string. :\


there still seems to be a small error. it writes to the file fine now but it doesn't write to it correctly. It seems to overwrite the <theme> tag instead of place it after it. like after i change it it just reads:

<name>BlackSmoke</name>
<titlelayout>LIMC</titlelayout>
</theme>

with no <theme> at beginning and then it doesn't change unless i go in and add it. It also leaves the other <name></name> entry in there, but guess that is prolly due to it just not writing on the right line?


Edit:
It writes properly now change the line (I changed the rcFile[17] bit to 18), but it doesn't reconfigure right or something have to go and reconfigure manually for it to reload the config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denstark
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 654
Location: sd.ca.us

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you guys think we should take this to a website rather than having it on the forums like they might do Here? I have no problem hosting it if that is so.
_________________
Blog
Code:
denstark> starbuck authorizes torture?
rokstar> sure they do, you tried their coffee?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why it should be? This is just fine! I'm not against that but wondering why? ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is nice here how we can discuss problems or ideas or whatever for scripts, but it could get kinda long and a pain to find something in like the middle of it. Site might not be a bad idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
Why it should be? This is just fine! I'm not against that but wondering why? ;)
Over time, this thread will become unmanageable. People don't read through pages and pages of posts.

A website would make a better repository. Discussion can still happen in a thread.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
Oktane wrote:
Why it should be? This is just fine! I'm not against that but wondering why? ;)
Over time, this thread will become unmanageable. People don't read through pages and pages of posts.

A website would make a better repository. Discussion can still happen in a thread.


ya that is exactly what i was thinking. I find that's the problem with similar threads. Like the ati thread, sure my problem may have been discussed and answered but it is on page 15 of like 36 and it would take forever to find and i not even sure if its in there. But it is nice to be able to discuss stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denstark
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 654
Location: sd.ca.us

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess ill start working on a page w/ all this info. There will be a link to here for the discussion aspect :)

EDIT: Should i go with a new design, or should i go with the same one as [Here]
_________________
Blog
Code:
denstark> starbuck authorizes torture?
rokstar> sure they do, you tried their coffee?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

denstark wrote:
I guess ill start working on a page w/ all this info. There will be a link to here for the discussion aspect :)


sounds like a plan :) don't forget to post the link ;). Gonna be enlisting other peoples services making this page? I'd help, but web design isn't my thing heh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denstark
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 654
Location: sd.ca.us

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:
denstark wrote:
I guess ill start working on a page w/ all this info. There will be a link to here for the discussion aspect :)


sounds like a plan :) don't forget to post the link ;). Gonna be enlisting other peoples services making this page? I'd help, but web design isn't my thing heh.


I was going to go with my existing web design, ill probably put out the page today, and we can redesign if needed :)

EDIT:
http://denstark.homelinux.org/openbox.php

There it is. Tell me what you think.
_________________
Blog
Code:
denstark> starbuck authorizes torture?
rokstar> sure they do, you tried their coffee?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's pretty simple and clear. In my opinion, pretty good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denstark
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 654
Location: sd.ca.us

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
That's pretty simple and clear. In my opinion, pretty good.


Sweet. :D
_________________
Blog
Code:
denstark> starbuck authorizes torture?
rokstar> sure they do, you tried their coffee?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the gmail script supposed to cache to file /tmp/gmail.cache. When does it do this? Cause it doesn't seem to be creating the file at all :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:
Is the gmail script supposed to cache to file /tmp/gmail.cache. When does it do this? Cause it doesn't seem to be creating the file at all :(

Yes it's supposed to do so (or at least I think so), but I don't have it either.

It checks my Gmail account, just like it should ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
Zepp wrote:
Is the gmail script supposed to cache to file /tmp/gmail.cache. When does it do this? Cause it doesn't seem to be creating the file at all :(

Yes it's supposed to do so (or at least I think so), but I don't have it either.

It checks my Gmail account, just like it should ;)


ya just if i select it by accident it delays me a few seconds, meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum