View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MartyParish
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:07 pm    Post subject: Gentoo for Idiots...I need it! Reply with quote

Please point me to the lamens guide for Gentoo usage. Everything I come accross assumes I am a Linux expert. I am a mere novice!

It took me days just to install and now that I finally have it working, I can't even figure out how to start a program!

I think the docs need to be dumbed down a bit for us n00bs.
wescott
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to check the websites linked to the Gentoo distro in distrowatch.com... they provide different viewpoints and between them you will gain a better understanding of using gentoo.
Gentoo Forum Member #43303

Yoda of Borg are we: Futile is resistance. Assimilate you, we will.
oumpah-pah
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your problem is not gentoo-related. So you can google around or buy some book for linux newbies, and then I'm sure you will fully understand the docs.
orionrobots
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: First Step Reply with quote

Every great journey starts with a first step - and that is what you have taken.

Now there really is a book "Linux for Dummies" which may help.

If you are at the moment stuck in a command line, and would like a GUI - I suggest you try this - log in as root, then type
Code:

/etc/init.d/xdm start

If you need help on a subject, try typing
Code:
apropos <subject>
, and your computer will list all manual pages relating to installed packages or libraries for that subject.

Type
Code:
man <commandname>