View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Bepcyc Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2004 Posts: 130 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:15 pm Post subject: How to make "route change" in Linux? |
|
|
I need to use a command "route change 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 10.1.8.1" in WinXP, what does it look in linux?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
inode77 Veteran
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 1303 Location: Heart of Europe
|
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
"man route" helps! (I know you don't like to hear it but RTFM; linux has some good manuals, just type "man <command>" to see how to use it and what options are available.
IIRR a change option don't exist, but you can always "del" and "add" a route.
Here's an example for changing the default route: Code: | route del -net default gw 192.168.1.1
route add -net default gw 192.168.1.254 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
msalerno Veteran
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 Posts: 1338 Location: Sweating in South Florida
|
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it looks like you are adding a default gateway, to make the change only temporary, use:
route add default gw 10.1.8.1
to make it permanent, edit the /etc/conf.d/net
gateway="eth?/10.1.8.1" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bepcyc Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2004 Posts: 130 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
msalerno wrote: | Well, it looks like you are adding a default gateway, to make the change only temporary, use:
route add default gw 10.1.8.1
to make it permanent, edit the /etc/conf.d/net
gateway="eth?/10.1.8.1" |
thanks to you, guys, I now have unlimited internet ;)))
THANX!
(it was maybe a stupid question, but I am a programmer and do not understand much in networks, I tried to read man route two times but it didn't help me ;) ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|